Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Naidu, Naqvi in BJP’s RS nominee list

nation Updated: May 30, 2016 06:48 IST

NEW DELHI: Union ministers M Venkaiah Naidu, Birender Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi are among the 12 candidates nominated by the BJP for the Rajya Sabha polls to be held on June 11.

Others fielded by the BJP include its vice-presidents Om Praka sh Ma thu rand Purushottam Rupala, who have been nominated from Rajasthan and Gujarat respectively.

The BJP has picked former state unit president Gopal Narain Singh as its nominee from Bihar.

There was speculation that former deputy C MS us hil Kumar Modi could be its choice for Bihar.

Naidu, Singh, Sitharaman, Goyal and Naqvi will be its candidates from Rajasthan, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Jharkhand, a statement issued by the party said.

Other nominees are Harsh Vardhan Singh and Ram Kumar Verma from Rajasthan, Anil Madhav Dave from Madhya Pradesh and Ramvichar Netam from Chhattisgarh.

With May 31 being the last date for filing nominations, the BJP will announce the names of more candidates soon.

The tenure of railways minister Suresh Prabhu is coming to an end and he is expected to be nominated again.

BJP sources said general secretary Ram Madhav and vicepresident Vinay Sahasrabuddhe are also in contention for party ticket. Biennial polls are being held for 57 seats and 14 BJP members are retiring.

It is expected to win 18-19 seats due to its sizeable strength in states like Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Rajasthan and Haryana.

First Published: May 30, 2016 06:48 IST