VR Raghunath missing from list of probables; Harjeet Singh in senior hockey camp

VR Raghunath is a major name that is missing from the 33 probables’ list selected for the national camp in preparation for major competitions this year.

other sports Updated: Mar 10, 2017 16:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
VR Raghunath,Harjeet Singh,Indian hockey team
VR Raghunath is a senior drag-flicker of the Indian national hockey team.(AP)

Captain of the junior hockey World Cup-winning team, Harjeet Singh, is among 33 probables selected for the national camp in preparation for major competitions this year. The camp will commence at the SAI centre in Bangalore from March 14.

Besides Harjeet, 10 more players from the junior team, including defender Dipsan Tirkey and midfielder Nilakanta Sharma, have been selected for the senior camp. India’s upcoming goalkeeper Suraj Karkera has also got a call-up for the camp.

Read | After Junior World Cup high, Hockey India pitches for development squad

Seasoned players like Sardar Singh and Rupinder Pal Singh are also among the probables. But the name of drag-flicker VR Raghunath is missing.

Chief coach Roelant Oltmans said the players were selected on the basis of their performance in the 2016 season and the Hockey India League that concluded February 26.

Read | Pakistan dig ugly hockey scar, India want apology for Champions Trophy incident

India’s first assignment will be the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in April, followed by the Hockey World League Semifinal in London.

But the focus will be more on the World League in June. “This year’s performances will be vital in bringing fresh perspective towards building the team for the 2018 World Cup,” said Oltmans.


Akash Chikte, PR Sreejesh, Vikas Dahiya, Suraj Karkera (all goalkeepers).

Dipsan Tirkey, Pardeep Mor, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas (all defenders).

Chinglensana Singh, SK Uthappa, Sumit, Satbir Singh, Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, Harjeet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Manpreet Singh, Simranjeet Singh (all midfielder).

Ramandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, Affan Yousuf, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Gurjant Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay (all forwards).

First Published: Mar 10, 2017 16:10 IST