Khadoor Sahib: All you need to know about your constituency | punjab | Hindustan Times
  • Monday, Jun 25, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Khadoor Sahib: All you need to know about your constituency

The Constituency has been the Akali stronghold. Intially, it was part of Amritsar constituency, but when it became an independent in 1967, it was named after Tarn Taran. In 2004, the seat was won by SAD candidate Dr Rattan Singh Ajnala. He did it again in 2009, when the seat was renamed after Khadoor Sahib. Despite lack of development, voters have preferred Panthic or Akali candidates. The area has a number of deras and babas (saint) with an Akali tint. Key factors | Top contenders| Poll facts

punjab Updated: Apr 27, 2014 15:29 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

This is a unique Lok Sabha constituency as it includes parts of all three regions of Punjab - Majha, Malwa and Doaba. The constituency acquired this distinction after delimitation in 2008. Not only was its name changed from Tarn Taran to Khadoor Sahib but also its limits were so defined that its boundaries crossed the Beas and Sutlej rivers into the Doaba and Malwa regions.

Ironically, this region of great religious significance is said to have the highest number of drug addicts in the state, particularly in villages falling in Tarn Taran district. One reason could be that its proximity to the border with Pakistan has led to little or no development in the area.

Numerous seizures of heroin have taken place in the border areas of Khem Karan and Bhikhiwind and there is no letup. In fact, smuggling was once a way of life in the villages close to the border and still continues to be so in some areas.

The area, particularly of Tarn Taran district, also suffered during terrorism. From being a prosperous area during the days when Partap Singh Kairon was the chief minister of then undivided Punjab, the region is yet to recover from the impact of terrorism.

Though there are 17 candidates in the fray for the April 30 Lok Sabha polls, the contest is primarily between Harminder Singh Gill of the Congress and veteran Akali leader Ranjit Singh Brahmpura of the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). Former MP Simranjit Singh Mann ( SAD- Amritsar) and Bhai Baldeep Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are also in the fray, they may not have much impact on the contest.

For Brahmpura, who was at one time referred to as ‘ Majhe da sher’ (Lion of Majha), this is his first Lok Sabha poll. He was preferred over sitting MP Dr Rattan Singh Ajnala, who had won three Lok Sabha polls from here (Tarn Taran and Khadoor Sahib). Ajnala was denied the ticket due to proximity to Maninderjit Singh Bittu Aulakh, arrested in the Jagdish Bhola drug racket.

Gill contested the last two assembly polls from Patti constituency. On both occasions, he lost to Adesh Partap Singh Kairon, son-in-law of Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal. In the 2012 polls, he lost by just 59 votes.