HT Image
HT Image

It’s official: Brazil get to host 2014 World Cup finals

Brazil, the lone bidders, are named as hosts for the 2014 football World Cup finals by the game’s governing body FIFA.
Reuters | By HT Correspondent, Zurich
UPDATED ON OCT 31, 2007 03:34 AM IST

Brazil, the lone bidders, were named as hosts for the 2014 football World Cup finals by the game’s governing body Fifa on Tuesday.

They become the fifth country to host two World Cups following Mexico (1970 and 1986), France (1938 and 1998), West Germany/Germany (1974 and 2006) and Italy (1934 and 1990).

Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, the president of Brazil who was present at Fifa House where the announcement was made, said: “I would just like to say how happy I am to see Brazil’s name on that card. Organising the World Cup is a huge task and we have far more responsibility weighing on our shoulders than when we arrived here. But we will organise a great World Cup and I am very happy.”

Fifa president Sepp Blatter said that although there was only one candidate, Fifa still had a tough task in awarding the finals to Brazil. “It was a real big challenge,” he said. “There were the same list of responsibilities and the same conditions that had to be met as if there had been more candidates.”

Brazil, who have won the World Cup a record five times and are the only country to have played in all 18 World Cup finals, last staged the event in 1950. They become the first South American hosts since Argentina staged and won the 1978 World Cup finals.

Brazil were the only country nominated to bid for the World Cup by the South American confederation (CONMEBOL) whose turn it was to stage the finals after they were awarded to Europe (Germany) in 2006 and Africa (South Africa) in 2010. Eighteen cities have bid to stage matches, and, according to the Fifa inspection report published last week, it is envisaged that between eight to 10 cities will host games.

However, the report, while giving the bid its blessing, says that none of the stadiums are currently up to Fifa safety standards for staging World Cup matches. That includes the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, which held a world crowd of 199,000 for the 1950 final.

Story Saved