Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Marin Cilic, Dominic Thiem advance to French Open third round

Marin Cilic and Dominic Thiem registered hard-fought victories in their respective matches to reach the third round of the French Open tennis competition on Thursday.

tennis Updated: Jun 01, 2018 09:12 IST
Agencies, Paris
Marin Cilic,Dominic Thiem,French Open
Marin Cilic defeated Hubert Hurkacz in their French Open encounter on Friday.(AFP)

Title challengers Marin Cilic and Dominic Thiem struggled into the French Open last 32 on Thursday.

Third seed Cilic reached the third round for the eighth time with a 6-2, 6-2, 6-7 (7), 7-5 win over Polish qualifier and world number 188 Hubert Hurkacz.

Former US Open champion Cilic, who reached the quarter-finals in Paris last year, will face Steve Johnson of the United States for a place in the last 16.

READ | Serena Williams shows plenty of fight to subdue Ashleigh Barty in French Open

However, it was a roller-coaster of a performance by newly-wed Cilic who cracked 48 winners but also 52 unforced errors.

“I was in control but played a poor third set so I had to start all over again,” said 29-year-year-old Cilic.

“I had to be positive, positive, positive. I screamed just to let it all out and I got the break in the 11th game.”

Seventh seeded Thiem, a semi-finalist in 2016 and 2017, racked up his 31st win of the year.

READ | Rafael Nadal in cruise control, Juan Martin Del Potro beats Julien Benneteau at French Open

The Austrian, the only man to beat world number one Rafael Nadal on clay this year, saw off Greek teenager Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-2, 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 in a match which had been suspended overnight after the third set.

Next up for Thiem is Italy’s Matteo Berrettini.

Highly-rated Canadian teenager Denis Shapovalov was knocked out by Germany’s Maximilian Marterer 5-7, 7-6 (7/4), 7-5, 6-4.

World number 70 Marterer, 22, has now reached the third round at successive Grand Slam events and will face a lucky loser for a place in the last 16 -- either Belgian Ruben Bemmelmans or Estonia’s Jurgen Zopp.

First Published: Jun 01, 2018 09:11 IST