New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 18, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Oct 18, 2019

Bigg Boss Kannada season 5: Chandan Shetty bags the winner’s trophy, Diwakar is the runner-up

Bigg Boss Kannada season 5 is finally over and musician Chandan Shetty has emerged as the winner.

tv Updated: Jan 29, 2018 11:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Chandan Shetty flaunst his winner’s trophy at Bigg Boss Kannada season 5 finale.
Chandan Shetty flaunst his winner’s trophy at Bigg Boss Kannada season 5 finale.(ColorsSuper/Facebook)

Musician Chandan Shetty was announced the winner of Bigg Boss Kannada season 5 while Diwakar walked home with the runner-up trophy on Sunday evening at the show’s grand finale. The show is hosted by Kannada actor, Sudeep.

After spending 100 days inside the house, Chandan was elated to win the show and was seen singing songs. The Indian Express quoted the winner in a report as saying, “I’d like to thank my music guru Arjun Janya on this occasion. He is the one who identified me as a singer and turned me into a rapper.” He walked away with a cash prize of Rs 50 lakh.

Chandan, who hails from Sakleshpur, said he plans to take the Kannada language to international platforms. “TV channels that play English music should also play Kannada songs. And that’s possible,” he added.

Interestingly, when Sudeep asked their opinion about the winner before announcing the final result, all the former contestants said they wanted Diwakar to win so that his financial problems may be solved. However, the audience did not have a similar wish, hence Diwakar ended up as the runner-up. First time in the history of Bigg Boss Kannada, the runner-up was also awarded with a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

The finale -- which took place over the weekend -- saw five contestants in the fray -- Chandan Shetty, Diwakar, Jayaram Karthik, Nivedita Gowda and Shruti Prakash.

Follow @htshowbiz for more

First Published: Jan 29, 2018 11:38 IST

top news