Mayoral poll: The lotus blooms | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 25, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mayoral poll: The lotus blooms

india Updated: Nov 08, 2006 10:54 IST
Highlight Story

Dinesh Sharma pips Manzoor Ahmad in city

LOTUS HAS bloomed. The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday bagged seven out of 12 mayoral seats. It is said to have won seat number eight, the Kanpur seat, the result of which is yet to be declared.

In Lucknow, Dinesh Sharma of the BJP was elected mayor. In a ding-dong battle, Sharma defeated his closest rival Manzoor Ahmad of the Congress by a margin of 9,003 votes. Sharma polled 2,21,713 votes, while Ahmad scored 2,12,710.

Madhu Gupta of the Samajwadi Party (SP) remained at the third position polling 1,58,918 votes. Total votes polled were 7,65,395 of which 34,298 were declared invalid.

This is the third consecutive win of the BJP. Earlier, Dr SC Rai had completed two terms as the first citizen of Lucknow.

Other contenders were; Independent Shailesh Kumar Singh “Shailu” 25631, Bhawan Singh Rawat 15476 votes. The BSP supported candidate Shiv Kumar Gupta scored 34155, and Badrinath Agnihotri of Loktantrik Congress 9690. Total 12 contestants remained in the fray for the prestigious post.

Coming back to mayoral poll results in the state, the Congress party secured victory on two mayoral seats and was leading in one. The ruling Samajwadi Party, however, managed to capture only one seat.

In Varanasi, the BJP retained the post of mayor for the third consecutive term, defeating the Samajwadi Party candidate by a margin of 28568 votes.

Its mayoral candidate Kaushlendra Singh secured 158187 votes where as Kanyalal Gupta of the ruling Samajwadi Party secured 129619 votes. The Congress candidate Chanderdev Jaiswal secured 64789 votes.

The BJP candidate Anju Chaudhary was declared elected by a handsome margin of 53,123 votes in Gorakhpur too. She defeated her nearest rival and SP candidate Sitaram Jaiswal. All others candidate lost their deposit.

Giving a rude shock to Samajwadi Party in its bastion, the Congress bagged the Allahabad mayor post.  Chaudhary Jitendra Nath Singh defeated his nearest rival Samajwadi Party’s Vinod Chandra Dubey by a margin of 3695 votes. Singh secured 77482 votes while Dubey got 75787. The State Election Commission said the BJP candidate Madhu trounced her nearest rival Sanjira Begum of the Congress by margin of over 1 lakh votes in Meerut. The Congress tasted victory in Bareilly. Its candidate Supriya Aron trounced her nearest rival Sanjana of the BJP by a margin of 66203 votes. Supriya polled 1,19,349 votes while Sanjana got 53,146 votes. The BJP also captured the Ghaziabad mayor seat.

Here its candidate Damyanti Goyal defeated her nearest rival Anjula Nagpal of the SP by a margin of 40102 votes. Damyanti polled 1,25,955 votes while Anjula polled 85,853 votes.      

The only mayoral seat that the Samajwadi Party candidate managed to capture was Moradabad. SP candidate Tuffal Hasan defeated his nearest rival Veena Agarwal of the BJP by a margin of 1718 votes. However, Veena has lodged a complaint with the SEC alleging bungling in the counting of ballot. Additional election commissioner Vinay Priya Dubey said the SEC had ordered an inquiry into the matter.

Aligarh mayor’s seat was also bagged by the BJP. Here Ashutosh Varshney defeated his nearest rival Jamirullah Khan of the SP by a margin of 20,001 votes.
Agra mayor seat too went to the BJP whose candidate Anjula Singh Mahaur defeated her nearest rival Rekha Kumari (Independent) by a margin of 26335 votes. The BJP candidate polled 1,36,637 votes while Rekha got 1,10,302 votes.

In Jhansi, the Congress candidate Dr B Lal was leading over the BJP candidate by a margin of over 27,000 votes till the last report came in at 1 pm. Meanwhile, independents continued to forge ahead in the Nagar Palika Parishad and Nagar Panchayat election.

On Tuesday evening, the SEC announced the results of 104 Nagar Palika Parishad Chairman posts. While the Independents grabbed 35 posts, the SP was second with 25 and the BJP secured victory on 13 posts. The Congress could bag only 6 chairman posts while the RLD got only one.

The SEC also declared the results of 240 Nagar Panchayat chairman posts. The independent bagged 99 seats, the SP 43, the BJP 28, the Congress 14 and the RLD 6 posts.