Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 22, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mood-I now travels to NCPA

Winners of IIT Bombay’s Mood Indigo 2011 to showcase their talent at NCPA once again.

art and culture Updated: May 30, 2012 15:17 IST
Soumya Vajpayee
Soumya Vajpayee
Hindustan Times

The National Centre for Performing Arts (NCPA) in association with IIT Bombay’s annual fest Mood Indigo, popularly called Mood-I, is organising their campaign, Live your Passion for the third year. The event, Aaveg, which starts on June 1, will showcase the winners of Mood-I 2011, presenting acts in the fields of drama, music, art and dance.

“At NCPA, we have always attempted to give young performers a platform through a range of programmes, educational initiatives and collaborations. We are delighted to be partners with this campaign,” says Khushroo N Suntook, chairman, NCPA.

Actor Ayushmann Khurrana, who led his college, DAV Chandigarh, to win the street play competition in Mood-I 2002, will be the chief guest at the event. Supporting the event, he tweeted, “Attending IIT Bombay’s Mood Indigo’s Aaveg at NCPA on June 1. Super excited to see the best plays, dance, music of the country.#MoodIndigo (sic).”

DAV Chandigarh, who won at the Mood-I last year, will be performing this year as well. Other colleges that will perform at the event include IIT Bombay, St. Xavier’s College (Mumbai), College of Enginnering (Pune), Nagindas Khandwa College (Mumbai). There will also be other individual acts.

“Getting a chance to perform at a stage like NCPA is magnificent. Today, I can truly accept that theatre is for everyone,” says Keith D’souza, a student of St. Xavier’s College which won the third position in the one-act play competition last year.

Mood-I will also launch its social campaign cum contest at the NCPA, which will be unveiled by Ayushmann.

Other guests of honour include Dolly Thakore, Amit Behl and Lalit Parimoo. Entry for the event is free.


Godrej Theatre
(12.00 – 5.00 pm)
The Third Bell: Winners of one-act play competition
The Director’s Cut: Winners of movie-making competition
Nrityangan: Winners of the classical dance competition
Swaranjali: Winners of the classical music competition
Framed: Winners of the photography and fine arts competition

Sunken Garden
(5.00 - 7.00 pm)
Agaaz: Winners of the street play competition

First Published: May 30, 2012 11:35 IST