Today in New Delhi, India
May 22, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong announces 42-member committee for MP civic body polls

The Congress announced its election committee for upcoming civic bodies’ polls. The committee, headed by Arun Yadav, has 42 members. Meanwhile, BJP will declare its candidates by November 10.

bhopal Updated: Nov 08, 2014 16:57 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The Congress on Friday announced its election committee for the upcoming civic bodies’ polls. The committee, headed by state Congress president Arun Yadav, has 42 members.

The members include leader of opposition Satyadev Katare, MPs Jyotiraditya Scindia and Kamal Nath, AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh, Ajay Singh, former MP Kantilal Bhuria, former minister Suresh Pachouri, Sajjan Verma, Arif Aqueel, Aslam Sher Khan et al.

The first list released in the day had 41 members. Later, MLA Govind Singh’s name was added. However, former MP Premchand Guddu’s name doesn’t figure in this list. Guddu had earlier voiced his dissatisfaction over delay in announcement of the committee.

BJP to declare candidates by Nov 10

State BJP president Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan said the process for selecting candidates for the upcoming polls would be completed by November 10. Chauhan said that block, division and state-level committees have started their work. The block-level committees will submit a panel of their names by November 8. The division-level committee will complete its process by November 9. Chauhan claimed that names for mayor, president of municipalities and nagar panchayats would be announced by November 10.

First Published: Nov 08, 2014 16:41 IST