New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 18, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Sep 18, 2019

Asia Cup 2018: MS Dhoni creates history, leads India for 200th time

MS Dhoni became the first Indian skipper to lead the team in 200 ODIs when the wicket-keeper batsman was handed the responsibility in the Asia Cup 2018 match against Afghanistan on Tuesday.

cricket Updated: Sep 26, 2018 08:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
MS Dhoni leads India in the Asia Cup 2018 match against Afghanistan on Tuesday.
MS Dhoni leads India in the Asia Cup 2018 match against Afghanistan on Tuesday.(REUTERS)

MS Dhoni came out as the captain of the Indian cricket team for the 200th time in ODIs during the Asia Cup 2018 match against Afghanistan in Dubai on Tuesday. India decided to rest skipper Rohit Sharma for the match as they have already qualified for the summit clash of the competition.

Dhoni has won 110 out of the 199 matches as skipper with 74 losses, 4 ties and 11 matches ending in no result.

He is the third international captain after Ricky Ponting (Australia) and Stephen Fleming (New Zealand) to captain any national side for 200 matches. For India, the second spot belongs to Mohammad Azharuddin who captained the India side for 174 matches.

READ: India vs Afghanistan, Live score updates, Asia Cup in Dubai

MS Dhoni’s final match as India’s designated ODI skipper was way back in October 29, 2016, when India defeated New Zealand by 190 runs in Visakhapatnam. 

Dhoni lost the toss against Afghanistan and the opponents decided to bat first. At the toss, he said - ‘Both our openers are missing. Bhuvi, Bumrah and Chahal are missing too. The bench strength is important and when it comes to their talent, they’re up there. Captaining my 200th game is just destiny.”

India XI: Rahul, Rayudu, Karthik, Dhoni, Pandey, Jadhav, Jadeja, Chahar, Kaul, Kuldeep, Khaleel

First Published: Sep 25, 2018 16:45 IST