Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 17, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI announces fixtures of Women’s T20 Challenge

The three-team Womens’ T20 challenge between Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity will begin from May 6

cricket Updated: Apr 23, 2019 21:38 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
New Delhi
Women’s T20 Challenge,Women's IPL,Smriti Mandhana
Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana during last year’s one-off women’s T20 challenge. (BCCI)

A three-team Women’s T20 Challenge will be played during the IPL Play-offs week next month in Jaipur, the BCCI announced on Tuesday.

The tournament will open with a clash between Supernovas and Trailblazers on May 6 while Velocity will lock horns with Supernovas on May 8. Each team will play two matches and top two teams and the top two teams will clash in the final on May 11.

All the matches will be standalone games.

“The teams will comprise current and future stars of Indian cricket playing alongside a selection of the world’s best players. The combined strength of talent on display will showcase the quality of women’s cricket,” said a BCCI release. Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana will lead the three sides.

First Published: Apr 23, 2019 21:38 IST