Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 18, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IND vs AUS, 5th ODI in Delhi Highlights: Australia win by 35 runs

India are struggling after losing six wickets Australia posted 273 for 9 in 50 overs as Usman Khawaja scored his second century of the series.

cricket Updated: Mar 13, 2019 21:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ind vs Aus,India vs Australia Live,Live Score Updates
Australia's Adam Zampa, left, celebrates the wicket of India's Rohit Sharma.(AP)

Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bat first. Nathan Lyon has been brought in to replace Jason Behrendorff, while Marcus Stoinis replaces Shaun Marsh. India have also made two changes to their playing XI from the Mohali ODI. Ravindra Jadeja replaced Yuzvendra Chahal while Mohammed Shami is in for KL Rahul.

Usman Khawaja is the in form batsman for Australia and he has already hit three crisp boundaries in the first three overs. There was close LBW shout from Bhuvneshwar Kumar but the appeal was turned down by the umpire and India decided not to go in for their only review.

Australia have raced to 30 in the first 5 overs and most of it is thanks to the classy batting of the southpaw Khawaja, who has been in great form throughout this series. Interesting fact is that Khawaja could equal Greg Chappell’s record of being the fastest Australia to 1000 runs in ODIs if he scored 117 today. Let’s keep an eye on that.

The Australian 50 is up in the 10th over. Finch is playing the perfect foil to an in form Khawaja. The run rate has come down a bit ever since the introduction of Jasprit Bumrah.

Usman Khawaja has motored along into the 90s and is eying his second century of his series and career. Australia have gone past 150 with the loss of only skipper Finch’s wicket.

Usman Khawaja has brought up his second ODI ton in just 102 balls.

ALSO READ: India vs Australia, Live Cricket Score, 5th ODI

Bhuvneshwar Kumar strikes for India and Khawaja’s stay in the middle comes to an end. He scored 100 off 106 balls and shared a 99-run stand with Peter Handscomb.

Big wicket for India as Glenn Maxwell is sent back for just 1. Ravindra Jadeja strikes, Australia 178/3 in 33.5 overs.

More trouble for Australia as Peter Handscomb has now been sent back by Mohammed Shami for 52.

Ashton Turner was dismissed for 20 by Kuldeep Yadav.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar strikes again, sends back Marcus Stoinis for 20.

Vice-captain Alex Carey is the next batsman to be dismissed. Mohammed Shami sends back the wicket-keeper batsman for 3.

Pat Cummins and Jhye Richardson have added crucial runs for Australia. Jasprit Bumrah is taken for 19 runs in the 48th over as Australia go past 250.

Australia have posted 272/9 in their 50 overs, which could be a challenging total on a wicket which has slowed down considerably.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma started well but Pat Cummins struck for Australia as Dhawan departed for 12. It was a faint edge and the wicket-keeper had no issues in completing the catch.

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have stitched together a decent partnership but the pitch has slowed down considerably. As a result, they are 44-1 after 10 overs with both batsmen looking to play cautiously.

A disappointing end to Virat Kohli’s innings and the Indian cricket team went chasing after a wide delivery from Marcus Stoinis and was dismissed for 20.

Nathan Lyon joins the party as he dismisses Rishabh Pant. It was a straight one from the spinner but Pant ended up edging it to Ashton Turner at first slip.

Vijay Shankar gifted his wicket to Adam Zampa after playing a horrible shot but on the other end, Rohit Sharma brought up his fifty in order to keep India in the hunt. Kedar Jadhav is the new batsman.

Two quick wickets for Australia and this is looking quite grim for India. Rohit Sharma was stumped for 56 and Ravindra Jadeja also ended up giving his wicket for a duck.

Kedar Jadhav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are holding fort and they have stitched together a crucial partnership. Can they win for India? Tough but not impossible.

The 72-run-stand between Kedar Jadhav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the second best 7th wicket stand at Delhi in ODIs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s innings comes to an end as he is caught in the deep for 46 and Pat Cummins has provided the breakthrough for Australia.

Kedar Jadhav had no choice but to go for the big shots and he is caught in the deep for 44 by Glenn Maxwell. It is almost game over for the hosts as they need 49 runs to win from 20 balls.

Mohammed Shami is caught and bowled by Jhye Richardson and this is truly game over for the hosts. There was not much chance for India to come back after the dismissal of Kedar Jadhav and now, it is all over.

Marcus Stoinis castles Kuldeep Yadav with the final ball of the match and Australia have won the match by 35 runs. It was a brilliant performance by the visitors and although Kedar Jadhav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar did fight back, Australia came out on top.

First Published: Mar 13, 2019 13:26 IST