New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Nov 22, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Nov 22, 2019

Mosaddek Hossain returns to Bangladesh squad for Afghanistan T20s

Bangladesh will play a three-match T20 series against Afghanistan in June, with Mosaddek Hossain set to return to the team

cricket Updated: May 20, 2018 16:52 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Mosaddek Hossain had last represented Bangladesh in a T20 back in April, 2017 against Sri Lanka.
Mosaddek Hossain had last represented Bangladesh in a T20 back in April, 2017 against Sri Lanka.(Getty Images)

Mosaddek Hossain has managed to make the cut to Bangladesh’s 15-member squad that will take on Afghanistan for three T20 internationals in Dehradun, Uttarakhand later this year.

Hossain had last represented Bangladesh in a T20 back in April 2017 against Sri Lanka. He, however, recently slammed a century in a domestic game in Bangladesh. While Hossain’s comeback came on expected lines since the selectors were willing to tinker with the squad, the trio of Imrul Kayes, Nurul Hasan and Taskin Ahmed failed to retain their spot.

Hasan, Kayes and Ahmed had all been part of the side that played in the Nidahas Trophy earlier this season. Ahmed is learnt to yet regain full fitness and hence wasn’t picked. Abu Jayed and Ariful Haque, who were also part of that series but failed to get a game, have also been retained.

READ | IPL 2018: Virat Kohli slams Royal Challengers Bangalore’s brittle middle order

“We want to send the best possible side because we are expecting it to be highly contested as they are very competitive side in the shortest format,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz. “As a result we were not keen to make lot of changes. Mosaddek missed out recently due to a problem with his eye but as he is fit now and playing well recently, we believe he is one of our future prospect and we still have that faith in him.”

The three-match series begins on June 3 and will run till June 7.

Bangladesh squad for three-match T20I series vs Afghanistan: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah (vc), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Miraz, Nazmul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed