Naeem Hasan, 17-year-old spinner, included in Bangladesh side for Sri Lanka Tests
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Naeem Hasan, 17-year-old spinner, included in Bangladesh side for Sri Lanka Tests

Naeem Hasan has been included in the Bangladesh team to counter Sri Lanka’s left-handers in the upcoming two-Test series while Sabbir Rahman and Taskin Ahmed have been left out.

cricket Updated: Jan 26, 2018 14:50 IST
Bangladesh national cricket team,Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka,Sri Lanka national cricket team
Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka in their 100th Test last year and they will be aiming for a series win this time at home. (Getty Images)

Bangladesh called up 17-year old rookie off-spinner Naeem Hasan for the opening match of a two-Test series against Sri Lanka next week.

Selectors said they opted for the uncapped off-spinner to counter Sri Lanka’s left handers in the squad. “Team management felt we might need another off-spinner” to complement Mehedi Hasan, selector Habibul Bashar told AFP. “At the moment Naeem is the best possible option, especially if we think of a specialised bowler.”

Naeem has played only four first-class matches and claimed nine wickets. Batsman Sabbir Rahman was dropped after a poor run in the ongoing tri-nation one-day series with Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Subashis Roy and Shafiul Islam, who were left out of the one-day series, were also overlooked for the Test squad.

“Sabbir could not fulfil our expectations in recent matches. We thought of Soumya, but he could not score enough runs in his last six innings in first-class cricket,” he said.

Middle-order batsman Mosaddek Hossain and pace bowler Kamrul Islam were recalled to the side, as was Shakib Al Hasan. The all-rounder replaces Mushfiqur Rahim as captain. Rahim was axed after Bangladesh was resoundingly thumped in both Test matches against the Proteas. Shakib’s second chance at skipper starts January 31 with the Test opener against Sri Lanka in Chittagong.

The second Test is in Dhaka starting February 8. Sri Lanka, who face Bangladesh in the tri-nation final on Saturday, will also play two Twenty20 internationals against the hosts.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Capt), Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Kamrul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Rubel Hossain, and Naeem Hasan.

First Published: Jan 26, 2018 14:50 IST