Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ravichandran Ashwin, Murali Vijay boost for Tamil Nadu in Ranji Trophy opener

Ravichandran Ashwin and Murali Vijay have been named in the Tamil Nadu squad for their Ranji Trophy 2017-18 opener against Andhra Pradesh.

cricket Updated: Oct 03, 2017 21:40 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Chennai
Ravichandran Ashwin,R Ashwin,Murali Vijay
Ravichandran Ashwin has been named in the Tamil Nadu squad for their Ranji Trophy opener against Andhra Pradesh. (REUTERS)

Ignored for India’s Twenty20 series against Australia, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was on Tuesday named in the 15-member Tamil Nadu Ranji squad along with Test opener Murali Vijay for the season-opener against Andhra Pradesh, starting Friday.

The team, to be led by Abhinav Mukund, would miss the services of the experienced batsman-wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Vijay Shankar.

(Read | Ravichandran Ashwin scores maiden half century in English county cricket)

Karthik has been picked for the T20 series against Australia while Shankar features in the Board President’s XI to face New Zealand.

The team includes exciting all-rounder Washington Sundar, who has impressed with his recent performances including in the Duleep Trophy final.

Baba Indrajith, who scored a double ton on his Duleep Trophy debut, would be Mukund’s deputy.

(Read | Ashish Nehra, Dinesh Karthik in India squad for T20I series vs Australia)

The team also features aggressive wicketkeeper-batsman N Jagadeesan and another gloveman in R Rohith, who shone in the recent Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL).

In the absence of T Natarajan and Aswin Crist due to fitness issues, the pace attack would be led by K Vignesh, who did well in his debut season with 30-plus wickets as Tamil Nadu made the semifinals.

L Vignesh and V Lakshman are the other pacemen named in the squad.

(Read | Australian cricket team’s India nightmare set to prolong in T20 series)

With the wicket at the M A Chidambaram Stadium likely to assist the spinners, the selectors have picked three specialists apart from Ashwin and Washington Sundar.

“It is a good team. We have a mix of experience and youth. The availability of Ravichandran Ashwin and Vijay is certain to bolster the squad,” Chairman of selectors Sridharan Sharath told PTI.

Left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore and Lakshman, who had done well in the local league, have also been picked.

“Not having Vijay Shankar (limited overs captain) is a big miss. But we have Ashwin, Washington Sundar and other all-rounders in the squad,” Sharath said.

Squad: Abhinav Mukund (C), Baba Indrajith (VC), M Vijay, M Kaushik Gandhi, N Jagadeesan (WK), Baba Aparajith, MS Washington Sundar, Rahil S Shah, K Vignesh, R Ashwin, L Vignesh, R Sai Kishore, V Lakshman, R Rohith (WK) and Malolan Rangarajan.

First Published: Oct 03, 2017 19:52 IST