New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 12, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019

Ashish Nehra, Shikhar Dhawan in India squad for T20I series vs Australia

Ashish Nehra, Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik made a return to the Indian cricket team for the three T20Is against Steve Smith’s Australia cricket team

india-vs-australia-2017 Updated: Oct 02, 2017 08:51 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ashish Nehra has been included in the India squad for the Australia T20Is.
Ashish Nehra has been included in the India squad for the Australia T20Is.(Getty Images)

Indian selectors named veteran left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra in the 15-member squad to play in the three-match Twenty20 International series against Australia cricket team. (IND v AUS 5th ODI highlights)

The selectors named the squad at the end of the ODI series. It also included opener Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the one-dayers to attend to his ailing wife. He returns to the squad with Ajinkya Rahane, who opened with Rohit Sharma in his place, not included in the squad. The selectors have also called up Dinesh Karthik in the side though MS Dhoni has been named as the wicketkeeper.

READ | Rohit Sharma, Axar Patel flatten Australia as India regain No.1 spot in ODIs

Dinesh Karthik was an injury replacement at the ICC Champions Trophy in June and then travelled with the team to the West Indies for a limited-overs series.

Ashish Nehra, 38, last played for India against England at home in February, featuring in all three T20 Internationals.

The matches will be played in Ranchi (Oct 7, Guwahati (Oct 10) and Hyderabad (Oct 13).

The squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.