Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sri Lanka rout Bangladesh by 199 runs

Chasing a 319-run target, Bangladesh players lack the spark giving in to SL in the rain-inflicted match, reports Anjali Behl.

cricket Updated: Apr 20, 2007 01:09 IST
Anjali Behl
Anjali Behl

Sri Lanka trounced Bangladesh by 199 runs in their key Group B encounter at the Queen's Park Oval in Trinidad on Wednesday. Heavy rain interrupted the play, twice. The match was consequently reduced to 46 overs.

Despite registering a morale-boosting win over India in their previous do, Bangladesh showcased a completely lacklustre performance today. The fielding was sloppy - having dropped a couple of loose catches and a few clear chances of run out. The bowlers lacked the spark which had tested heavy on the Indian side. The batting, too remained sluggish.

It, however, remained arguable whether the Lankans displayed a mercurial show or the Bangla boys lacked fire.

The Lankan batsmen compiled 318 runs while losing just four wickets. Jayasuriya completed a quickfire century. The bowlers went on a rampage to topple the opponents' top order early. The middle order and the tailenders, too succumbed to the pressure wrapping up the innings at an exiguous total of 112 in 37 overs.

Sri Lanka now lead the group with four points while Bangladesh will look forward to win the match against Bermuda on Sunday.

The Bangladesh innings started on a disappointing note as ace pacer Chaminda Vaas trapped opener Shahriar Nafees in the maiden over. Lasith Malinga followed suit to dismiss Tamim Iqbal for a paltry score of six runs. Malinga struck back to uproot key batsman Aftab Ahmed to put the opponents in a terrible fix.

Dilshan caught a good catch to dispatch Mushfiqur Rahim off Maharoof's delivery. Known for his 'doosra', Muthiah Muralitharan got the better of Saqibul Hasan to remove him for four.

Jayawardene effected a run-out to send his Bangladeshi counterpart Habibul Bashar back to the pavilion before play was interrupted due to rain for the second time during the day.

Bangladesh's hopes to remain in the game were also dampened as wickets kept falling at regular intervals. Arnold removed Mashrafe Mortaza (7) soon after the play was resumed. The tailenders failed to provide any support, walking back one by one.

Bangladesh failed to cash in on the advantage of winning the toss. Electing to field, they got their first breakthrough in the 15th over when Mohammad Rafique dismissed opener Upul Tharanga for 26. The two openers had done enough to give Lanka a flying start. Tharanga with Sanath Jayasuriya erected a 98-run partnership off just 84 balls.

Play was interrupted due to heavy rains and resumed after nearly 20 minutes. Having injured his knee, Jayasuriya retired hurt at the end of the 25th over. Kumar Sangakkara was his replacement.

Soon, Saqibul Hasan packed off Jayawardene to give his side a much-needed breakthrough. The skipper walked back for 46. Jayasuriya, who had retired hurt, came back following Sangakkara's dismissal by pacer Syed Rasel.

After missing three easy catches, skipper Habibul Bashar got lucky to dismiss centurion Jayasuriya off Abdur Razzaq's delivery. The batsman scored 109 runs off just 87 balls.

Both the teams retained the sides which won the first matches.

The top two sides will advance to the next Super Eight stage. As India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have one match each to go after this, at the end of the leagues matches, if all the three teams earn four points each, the entry to Super Eight will be decided by the net run rate.


Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar, Shahriar Nafees, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Javed Omar, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammad Rafique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Rajin Saleh, Saqibul Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Tamim Iqbal, Tapash Baisya.

Sri Lanka: DPMD Jayawardene, RP Arnold, MS Atapattu, CM Bandara, TM Dilshan, CRD Fernando, ST Jayasuriya, KMDN Kulasekara, MF Maharoof, SL Malinga, M Muralitharan, KC Sangakkara, LPC Silva, WU Tharanga, WPUJC Vaas.

First Published: Apr 20, 2007 01:03 IST