Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ton-up Faiz Fazal guides Vidarbha to third consecutive win
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ton-up Faiz Fazal guides Vidarbha to third consecutive win

Faiz Fazal’s 103 helped Vidarbha crush Hyderabad by 237 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

cricket Updated: Feb 08, 2018 19:17 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Hyderabad
Vijay Hazare Trophy,Faiz Fazal,Vidarbha
Faiz Fazal overcame a string of poor scores with a 97-ball 103 to help Vidarbha register their third win in a row in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. (PTI)

Faiz Fazal returned to form with a stellar century as Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha routed Hyderabad by 237 runs for a hat-trick of wins in the Vijay Hazare Trophy domestic one-day cricket competition on Thursday.

The left-handed opener overcame a string of poor scores with a 97-ball 103 (9x4, 3x6) before the duo of Ravi Jangid (81 from 62 balls; 6x4, 3x6) and Apoorv Wankhade (66 from 43 balls; 3x4, 5x6) took charge of the proceedings to propel Vidarbha to a huge 350/6 after they opted to bat.

In reply, Hyderabad folded for 113 in 34.2 overs with Karn Sharma returning figures of 3/38 while Shrikant Wagh claimed 2/20, as the home side suffered its first defeat from three matches.

(Read | Bangladesh stumble after Abdur Razzak 4/63 bowls Sri Lanka out for 222 in Dhaka Test)

With three wins in a row, Vidarbha led Group D table with 12 points, while the home side remained second with eight points.

In other matches, Jharkhand and Jammu & Kashmir secured their first wins respectively, to remain in contention.

Parvez Rasool led from the front with an unbeaten 67 (80 balls; 3x4, 2x6) and he along with Shubham Pundir (55 from 47 balls; 7x4) steered them to a stunning six-wicket win over a star-studded Saurashtra with an over to spare at the Gymkhana Ground in Secunderabad.

(Read | Remember all my 200 ODI wickets: Jhulan Goswami after world record feat)

Chasing 268, opener Ahmed Bandy gave Jammu & Kashmir a fine start with a 66-ball 65 (11x4, 1x6) before Rasool and Pundir combined together for a matchwinning 98-run fourth- wicket stand.

Ravindra Jadeja returned wicketless with 59 from his full quota, while IPL’s costliest Indian buy, Jaydev Unadkat, also finished without a wicket conceding 57 from his nine overs.

Earlier, Saurashtra were struggling at 131/5 after their star players Robin Uthappa (20 from 29 balls; 2x4), Cheteshwar Pujara (27 from 64 balls) and Ravindra Jadeja (13 from 30b; 1x4) were dismissed cheaply.

Arpit Vasavada revived their innings with an 85 not out from 73 balls (1x4, 6x6). He along with Prerak Mankad (67 from 48 balls; 5x4, 2x6) took them to a challenging 267/6.

At the AOC Centre Thapar Stadium in Secunderabad, Ishan Kishan came up with a captain’s knock of 106 from 75 balls (13x4, 4x6) to power Jharkhand to a five-wicket win over Services with 115 balls to spare.

Brief Scores:

Vidarbha 350/6; 50 overs (Faiz Fazal 103, Ravi Jangid 81, Apoorv Wankhade 66; Ravi Teja 2/53) beat Hyderabad 113; 34.2 overs (Karn Sharma 3/38, Shrikant Wagh 2/20) by 237 runs.

Gymkhana Ground, Secunderabad: Saurashtra 267/6; 50 overs (Arpit Vasavada 85 not out, Prerak Mankad 67; Waseem Raza 2/45) lost to Jammu & Kashmir 269/4; 49 overs (Parvez Rasool 67 not out, Ahmed Bandy 65, Shubham Pundir 55; Kamlesh Makvana 3/36) by six wickets.

AOC Centre Thapar Stadium, Secunderabad: Services 202/9; 50 overs (Hardik Sethi 66; Varun Aaron 3/20, Anukul Roy 2/26) lost to Jharkhand 203/5; 30.5 overs (Ishan Kishan 106, Saurabh Tiwary 56; Vikas Yadav 2/23) by five wickets.

First Published: Feb 08, 2018 19:17 IST