Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Virat Kohli’s unique T20I record broken by Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad

Virat Kohli was surpassed by Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad in the list of most T20I career run-scorers. Shahzad scored 72 against Ireland to reach 1779 career runs to be the fourth highest-scorer, while Virat Kohli has 1709 runs.

cricket Updated: Mar 14, 2017 11:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
Mohammad Shahzad,Virat Kohli,Indian Cricket team
Afghanistan's Mohammad Shahzad has scored 1779 runs in 58 T20Is, while Virat Kohli has scored 1709 runs in 48 games.(PTI)

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad notched up 1779 career T20I runs to surpass Indian skipper Virat Kohli as the fourth-most successful batsman in the shortest format of the game.

Shahzad hit his 1779 runs in 58 T20I matches to go past Kohli’s 1709 runs from 48 games.

He now sits behind former Kiwi skipper Brendon McCullum (2140 runs), Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan (1889) and New Zealand’s Martin Guptill (1806) on the all-time highest run-getters list in T20 Internationals.

The 29-year-old Shahzad has an average of 32.34 and a strike rate of 136.84. In comparison, Kohli, who has played 10 fewer T20I matches, has an average of 53.50 and a strike rate of 134.77.

Wicket-kreper-opener Shahzad achieved the feat with his knock of 72 runs in the third of a three-match series between Afghanistan and Ireland in Greater Noida.

His contribution helped the Afghans post a target of 234. Ireland could only reply with 205. With the 28-run victory, the Afghans completed a whitewash of the series at the Greater Noida Sports Complex Ground.

Winning streak

Afghanistan are currently on their best-ever winning streak in T20Is having won 11 in a row.

They have surpassed England and Ireland’s joint record for most consecutive T20I wins; both nations having managed eight consecutive wins in the past.

Afghanistan’s winning run began in March 2016 with a victory over West Indies in Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium during the World T20. They have gone on to beat the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Ireland since then.

First Published: Mar 14, 2017 11:00 IST