WTC Final: Virat Kohli not happy after umpire sends catch appeal upstairs despite no DRS from New Zealand

WTC Final: India captain Virat Kohli was not pleased with umpire's decision to send a catch appeal upstairs.
Virat Kohli in discussion with umpires.(Twitter)
Virat Kohli in discussion with umpires.(Twitter)
Updated on Jun 19, 2021 07:27 PM IST
Copy Link

India captain Virat Kohli on Day 2 of the World Test Championship final expressed his displeasure after umpire Richard Illingworth sent an appeal for caught behind upstairs despite New Zealand not seeking a DRS review. The moment took place in the 41st over when Kiwi speedster Trent Boult troubled Virat Kohli with a delivery on the leg side.

The Kiwi players went for a huge appeal for caught behind, feeling that there was a sound before the ball travelled to New Zealand wicketkeeper BJ Watling.

India vs New Zealand, WTC Final - LIVE!

The umpire did not seem interested in the caught behind appeal. Trent Boult was interested and tried to convince his captain Kane Williamson to go for a review, but before he could take the review, the timer was up.

Despite New Zealand not taking a review, umpire Illingworth had a word with the square-leg umpire Michael Gough and decided to send it upstairs for a review.

The moment caused massive confusion in the middle as an unimpressed Kohli went to the umpire to question the call.


After a brief discussion, Kohli smiled before walking away. New Zealand did not lose a review as they had not sought a DRS review.

According to the rules, the on-field umpires can only refer an appeal for a catch upstairs if there is doubt about the catch. In this case, however, Watling had gathered the ball clearly, the only doubt was whether Kohli had nicked it. This created confusion, which was doubled up New Zealand not taking a review and the call still going to the TV umpire.

Meanwhile, India were given a solid start by openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill in the WTC final after New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bowl. After the openers were dismissed, Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara settled India before the latter was trapped LBW by Trent Boult.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
Close Story
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP
×
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, October 22, 2021