Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India vs England: Yuvraj Singh back in ODI, T20I squads, Virat Kohli is captain

Yuvraj Singh made a surprising comeback to the ODI and T20I teams for the upcoming India vs England series. Virat Kohli was officially appointed captain of the Indian cricket team after Mahendra Singh Dhoni quit his post earlier this week

cricket Updated: Jan 06, 2017 17:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Virat Kohli,Yuvraj Singh,Rishabh Pant
Yuvraj Singh comes back into the Indian ODI cricket side after three years while Rishabh Pant has been included in the T20I side for the England series which will be led by new skipper Virat Kohli.(AFP)

Virat Kohli was officially appointed captain of the Indian ODI and Twenty20 side for the upcoming India vs England series following Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s decision to quit as captain. Dhoni had announced his decision to relinquish captaincy on Wednesday. (HIGHLIGHTS)

In a surprising move, the selectors recalled Yuvraj Singh back into the ODI squad after a gap of close to four years. Yuvraj Singh last played an ODI against South Africa in Centurion in 2013, a series in which India lost 3-0.

The selection meeting was delayed for a couple of hours after lack of clarity over protocol in the wake of the Supreme Court order on January 2, which left the BCCI without most of its senior officials.

Yuvraj Singh has been in prime form for Punjab in the Ranji Trophy, registering scores of 260 and 85 against Baroda and Uttar Pradesh, respectively.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who were rested for the New Zealand series, also come back for this series.

Rishabh Pant in Twenty20 Squad

The selectors also rewarded Rishabh Pant’s consistency in the Ranji Trophy by including him in the Twenty20 International squad.

Rishabh Pant, 19 years, blasted 972 runs at an average of 81 in the 2016/17 edition of the Ranji Trophy, has impressed one and all with his aggression.

India will play three ODIs against England starting on January 15 in Pune, followed by one on January 17 in Cuttack and the third one in Kolkata on January 22.

The three Twenty20 Internationals begin on January 26, with the first one in Kanpur with the other two matches in Nagpur and Bangalore on January 29 and February 01 respectively.

Indian Team for ODIs: Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

Indian Team for T20Is: Virat Kohli (Capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Mandeep Singh, KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

First Published: Jan 06, 2017 16:42 IST