New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 20, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019

Atletico de Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters 4-3 on penalties to win ISL 2016

Atletico de Kolkata are the 2016 Indian Super League (ISL) champions after beating Kerala Blasters 4-3 on penalties after the match ended 1-1 in extra time. Catch ISL 2016 final live football score of Kerala Blasters FC vs Atletico de Kolkata ISL 2016 final here.

football Updated: Dec 19, 2016 16:18 IST
Sayan Ghosh
Sayan Ghosh
Hindustan Times
Atletico de Kolkata players celebrate with the Indian Super League trophy after beating Kerala Blasters in the final.
Atletico de Kolkata players celebrate with the Indian Super League trophy after beating Kerala Blasters in the final.(Photo: ISL)

Atletico de Kolkata are the 2016 Indian Super League (ISL) champions after beating Kerala Blasters 4-3 on penalties after the match ended 1-1 in extra time. Henrique Sereno scored for the visitors after Mohammad Rafi handed the lead to Kerala Blasters Catch live football score of Kerala Blasters vs Atletico de Kolkata ISL 2016 final here. (LIVE SCORES and UPDATES)

22:01 hrs IST:

22:00 hrs IST:

21:57 hrs IST:

21:50 hrs IST: Atletico de Kolkata are the new ISL champions! The 2014 winners defeat Kerala Blasters 4-3 on penalties to claim their second title in three seasons!

Atletico de Kolkata players celebrate after winning the 2016 Indian Super League title.
Atletico de Kolkata players celebrate after winning the 2016 Indian Super League title. ( Photo: ISL )

21:43 hrs IST: After six penalties, the score is 2-2!

21:34 hrs IST: The match will be decided on penalties! It has been an epic game and the shootout feels like the perfect ending to this encounter.

21:31 hrs IST: 3 minutes left! Can someone become the hero in these late stages?

21:28 hrs IST: Looks like this match is going to be decided in the penalties! But 6 minutes still remain in extra time!

21:24 hrs IST: Two brilliant moves by Atletico de Kolkata, but the score is still 1-1! Looks like Atletico owner Sourav Ganguly will have no nails left tonight!

21:15 hrs IST: The score remains 1-1 with just one half of extra time to go!

21:11 hrs IST:

21:10 hrs IST: Yellow card for Kerala Blasters defender Sandesh Jhingan.

21:07 hrs IST: It has been high octane action in the extra time till now as both teams are going for all-out attack.

21:05 hrs IST: Substitution for Atletico de Kolkata as Nato comes on for Sereno.

21:03 hrs IST: 3 minutes into the extra time and Kerala Blasters already have a dangerous attack to their name!

20:56 hrs IST: Both the teams are tied at 1-1 after regulation time and so, the game will now be decided in extra time!

20:50 hrs IST: 5 minutes of additional time!

20:48 hrs IST:

20:46 hrs IST: What a strike by Borja! The midfielder takes a solid long range shot, but it misses the goal by some distance.

20:45 hrs IST: 5 minutes left in regulation time. Will this match go to extra time?

20:40 hrs IST: 80 minutes gone! Who will be able to win this battle of nerves?


20:37 hrs IST: Double substitution for Kerala Blasters as German replaces Nazon and Rafique replaces Rafi.

20:36 hrs IST: The ISL 2014 final between these two teams was decided in the 95th minute. Are we looking at a repeat of that match?

20:32 hrs IST: 70 minutes gone! Score remains 1-1 in the 2016 Indian Super League final.

20:27 hrs IST: it has been a weird night for Helder Postiga! Another long range shot from the striker, but no result!

20:25 hrs IST: Nazon has not been too effective for Kerala Blasters tonight, while Iain Hume has been a live wire on the field for Atletico de Kolkata.

20:20 hrs IST: Sereno is back on the field after getting heavily bandaged for his head injury.

20:15 hrs IST: 55 minutes gone. The score remains 1-1!

20:08 hrs IST: A good pass from Sandesh Jhingan, but Kervens Belfort’s shot was not up to the mark.

20:05 hrs IST: We are back for the second half! Who will win the ISL 2016 title? Let’s find out!


19:54 hrs IST:

19:51 hrs IST: It’s half-time in Kochi and the score remains 1-1.

19:49 hrs IST: Sereno scores from the corner as the visitors make it 1-1 in the Indian Super League final.

19:47 hrs IST: GOAL! Atletico de Kolkata equalizes!


19:44 hrs IST: A looping cross from the corner and Mohammad Rafi made no mistake in guiding it into the goal! A huge lead for Kerala Blasters in the ISL 2016 final!

19:41 hrs IST: GOAL! Mohammad Rafi scores as Kerala Blasters take the lead!

19:38 hrs IST: Another shot on goal for Helder Postiga, but no result! Meanwhile, Kerala Blasters’ marquee player Aaron Hughes leaves the field and is replaced by N’Doye.

19:35 hrs IST: 32 minutes gone. Kerala Blasters have been the superior side till now, but the ISL 2016 final is still waiting for its opening goal.

19:32 hrs IST: Meanwhile, India defeated Belgium 2-1 to claim their second Hockey Junior World Cup title after 15 years!

19:29 hrs IST: Yellow card for Atletico de Kolkata skipper Borja Fernandez.

19:26 hrs IST: A straightforward chance for Atletico de Kolkata’s Helder Postiga, but his shot flies over the crossbar. Score remains 0-0.

19:24 hrs IST: A good free-kick from Kervens Belfort, but the shots misses the target by quite some distance.

19:20 hrs IST: A solid shot by Atletico de Kolkata’s Doutie, but an equally good save by the Kerala Blasters goalkeeper.

19:18 hrs IST: The tweet says it all!

19:15 hrs IST: It has been all Kerala Blasters till now! The home side is looking quite dangerous, but their finishing has not been up to the mark.

19:13 hrs IST: A solid attack by Kerala Blasters, but the finishing by Rafi was not good enough!

19:11 hrs IST: First corner of the game for Atletico de Kolkata, but nothing came out of it! 8 minutes gone, score remains 0-0.

19:08 hrs IST: A good start by Kerala Blasters as they are looking to attack from the very first minute.

19:05 hrs IST: The referee for this match is Alireza Faghani who officiated in the 2016 Olympics Men’s Football Final .

19:04 hrs IST: The match is underway!

18:58 hrs IST: The away fans are also making their presence felt in Kochi.

18:52 hrs IST: The two teams are out on the field. Hopefully, this is going to be a night to remember for Indian football fans.


18:49 hrs IST: The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is completely full tonight and the huge support can play a major role in Kerala Blasters’ performance against Atletico de Kolkata.

18:47 hrs IST: Sachin’s opening partner Sourav Ganguly is also present at the venue, but he will be hoping for an Atletico de Kolkata win.

18:44 hrs IST: Sachin Tendulkar is here to support his side Kerala Blasters.

18:35 hrs IST: Here’s a look at the two line-ups -

18:34 IST: Hello and welcome to the live coverage of the Indian Super League final between Kerala Blasters and Atletico de Kolkata!

Atletico de Kolkata will miss the services of defender Robert Lalthlamuana (red card) and Juan Belencoso (suspension), while Kerala Blasters FC will be without their Spanish midfielder Josu Currias, who picked up his second consecutive yellow card of the tournament against Delhi Dynamos FC in the second leg of their semifinal encounter.


Kerala Blasters FC reached the ISL 2016 final after defeating Delhi Dynamos 3-0 on penalties, while Atletico de Kolkata showed great resilience to reach their second ISL final in three seasons after beating Mumbai City FC 3-2 on aggregate.

First Published: Dec 18, 2016 18:20 IST

more from football