Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 18, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress’ Ramesh Kumar begins second stint as Karnataka assembly Speaker

Ramesh Kumar previously served as the speaker of the assembly between 1994 and 1999.

india Updated: May 25, 2018 13:21 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Bengaluru
Ramesh Kumar,Karnataka assembly Speaker,Karnataka floor test
Congress’ MLA Ramesh Kumar was elected as Speaker of Karnataka assembly on May 25.(Twitter/ANI Photo)

Congress legislator KR Ramesh Kumar was elected unopposed as the Karnataka assembly Speaker in Bengaluru on Friday after the BJP candidate withdrew his nomination for the post.

Congress legislative party leader Siddaramaiah proposed Kumar’s name for the Speaker’s post, which was seconded by deputy chief minister G Parameshwara.

Speaking in the assembly, chief minister Kumaraswamy said, “Doubts were expressed over Ramesh Kumar holding the Speaker position given his young age. But, he brought dignity to the office in his first stint in the 90s.”

Ramesh Kumar was formerly a member of the Janata Dal. He has previously served as the speaker of the assembly between 1994 and 1999. Kumar first won an election in 1978 as a Congress member before moving to the Janata Dal in 1985. In 2004, he moved back to the Congress and has been with the party ever since.

BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa said his party’s candidate, Suresh Kumar, withdrew his nomination so there could be a unanimous choice. “The Speaker’s post belongs to no party,” the former CM said

Parameshwara had appealed to the opposition on Thursday to not contest the post and allow Ramesh Kumar to become the speaker, considering his experience in the post.

First Published: May 25, 2018 13:04 IST