Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 23, 2020-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi Exit Poll Results 2020 highlights: Exit polls predict Kejriwal’s return, BJP improves poll performance

Delhi Exit Poll Results 2020 Highlights: Exit polls have predicted that ruling Aam Aadmi Party will return to power. BJP to increase its tally in Delhi legislative assembly.

By HT Correspondent | Feb 08, 2020 22:44 IST

The single phase polls in the National Capital territory of Delhi ended at 6 pm on Saturday with the polls ending across 2688 polling stations and 70 constituencies. The provisional turnout recorded is 61.56% according to ECI voter turnout app.

Exit polls stats by Times Now- IPSOS have predicted that Aam Aadmi Party will win 44-50 seats, 17 less than what they had won in the previous polls. BJP is pegged to bag 26 seats.

NewsX has predicted AAP to win 50-56 seats. Congress is projected to win 1 seat.

Republic-Jan Ki Baat says AAP will retain power in Delhi with 48-61 seats. BJP might increase its share and win 9-21 seats.

ABP-CVoter has predicted AAP to win 49-63 seats, with BJP pegged to win around 5-19 seats. India Today-Axis has predicted that ruling AAP might even better its own record and win 59-68 seats, with BJP securing 2-11 seats.

Around 1.4 crore voters decided the fate of 672 candidates, as the capital voted in the first assembly elections of this decade.

Times Now-IPSOS44-50 20-26 0 0
Republic-Jan Ki Baat48-61 9-21 0-1 0
ABP-CVoter49-63 5-19 0-4 0
NewsX-Polstrat50-56 10-14 0-1 0
India Today-Axis59-68 2-11 0 0

Health Warning: Exit polls often get it wrong

The Aam Aadmi Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party led a high decibel campaign in the capital city, with the latter aiming to wrest power and make a comeback after two decades. CM Arvind Kejriwal remained confident that he will come back for a second straight term.

Exit polls are based on responses of the people who have cast their votes. Pollsters, assume that voters have correctly revealed their pick and cast a prediction of who is going to win ahead of the actual counting of votes.

Catch the highlights of the Delhi Exit Polls 2020 here:

10:41 PM IST

Home Minister Amit Shah reaches the meeting at BJP’s Pt. Pant Marg headquarters

Home Minister will hold discussions with BJP President JP Nadda at BJP’s Pt. Pant Marg headquarters.

9:54 PM IST

‘Picture on ground different from what is projected by exit polls’: Lekhi

BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi said that exit polls are predicting a different picture than what is shown on the ground. BJP MP meet was headed by JP Nadda.

9:54 PM IST

‘We don’t believe in exit polls, we believe in exact polls’: Javadekar

Union minister Prakash Javadekar says that exit polls have often been proved wrong in the past after attending meeting headed by BJP president JP Nadda.

9:35 PM IST

Congress Delhi chief Subhash Chopra says Kejriwal will not form government in Delhi

The Delhi Congress chief said he hopes Congress will do better than what the exit polls have predicted.

9:12 PM IST

AAP’s Saurabh Bharadwaj says exit polls indicate exit of Manoj Tiwari as Delhi BJP chief

AAP lawmaker Saurabh Bharadwaj has said that exit polls indicate that Manoj Tiwari might have to leave his post as Delhi’s BJP Chief, according to ANI.

8:56 PM IST

BJP Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari says BJP will form government in Delhi, despite exit polls predicting AAP comeback

BJP Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari said that ‘his sixth sense’ told him that BJP will form government in Delhi with at least 50 seats.

8:48 PM IST

JP Nadda, BJP President, arrives for the meeting of BJP MPs

BJP MPs are currently meeting at the BJP HQs to discuss poll prospects.

8:11 PM IST

India Today-Axis predicts major win for Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party

India Today-Axis predicts AAP to win big and even increasing their tally to 68. They have predicted AAP to win 59-68. BJP could bag 2-11 seats. Congress pegged to win nothing according to this exit poll stats.

7:55 PM IST

Vijay Goel and Nityanand Rai also to attend meet of BJP MPs, says ANI

According to ANI, Amit Shah has called a meeting of BJP MPs to discuss post poll prospects at BJP headquarters.

7:42 PM IST

BJP MPs to meet at Pant Marg to assess post-poll prospects

BJP MPs are set to meet in its headquarters in Pant Marg. Delhi election in-charge Union minister Prakash Javadekar and co-incharge Union minister Hardeep Puri are expected to attend.

7:28 PM IST

ABP-CVoter projects Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP to win 49-63 seats

In ABP-CVoter’s predictions BJP is set to win 5-19 seats. Their exit polls have shown some hope for Congress as it pegs the party to win 0-4 seats.

6:56 PM IST

Exit polls show Congress has performed poorly

Congress’ electoral performance has hit a new low this Delhi polls, barring Republic-Jan Ki Baat other pollsters like NewsX and Times Now IPSOS have said that Congress will not be able to win any seats in Delhi Assembly election 2020.

6:44 PM IST

NewsX-Neta predicts AAP to win 53-57 seats, 10 lesser than their previous haul

BJP is set to win 11-17 seats according to the numbers predicted by NewsX-Neta.

6:39 PM IST

Republic-Jan Ki Baat says AAP to win 48-61 seats, BJP to win 9-21 seats

Republic-Jan Ki Baat has also predicted that Congress might win 1 seat.

6:34 PM IST

Times Now-IPSOS pegs AAP to retain power in Delhi

Times Now-IPSOS predicts AAP to win 44-50 seats, BJP to increase its share to 20-26 seats.

6:22 PM IST

Sudarshan News’ Exit Poll says BJP is set to win 40-45 wins

Sudarshan News projects BJP will win by a huge majority.

6:10 PM IST

North east Delhi’s Mustafabad constituency records 66.29% turnout

Seelampur, Ghonda, Karawal Nagar have also recorded turnout of over 60%

6:00 PM IST

57.87% is the provisional voter turnout as voting draws to a close

Voting for Delhi is going to end soon. Mustafabad constituency records highest turnout at 66.29%.

5:50 PM IST

Voting across Delhi’s constituencies to end soon

Voting over 2,500 constituencies for Delhi Assembly Election will end soon. All eyes will now be on the exit polls as pollsters will try to deduce and predict a winner before the actual results come out on February 11.

Sign In to continue reading