New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 20, 2019-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Sunday, Oct 20, 2019

Karnataka bypolls 2018: CM Kumaraswamy’s wife wins Ramanagaram by 1.09 lakh votes

Karnataka By-elections 2018: Anitha Kumaraswamy, chief minister HD Kumaraswamy’s wife, was the Janata Dal (Secular) candidate in Ramanagara.

india Updated: Nov 06, 2018 13:06 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anitha Kumaraswamy is the JD(S) candidate from Ramanagaram constituency.
Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anitha Kumaraswamy is the JD(S) candidate from Ramanagaram constituency.(Burhaan Kinu/ HT Photo)

Anitha Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular) on Tuesday won the Ramanagaram assembly seat, where a bypoll was held last week, in Karnataka by a margin of 1,09,137 votes.

Anitha is the wife of Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy.

The Ramanagaram constituency fell vacant after the chief minister, who had contested from two seats in May, took oath as the legislator from Channapatna. Kumaraswamy also won the Ramanagaram assembly seat.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) faced its biggest embarrassment on this seat on the outskirts of state capital Bengaluru after its candidate L Chandrashekar, a Congress rebel, withdrew from the race just two days ahead of the polling. Chandrashekar resigned from the saffron party and rejoined the Congress, as its leaders allegedly betrayed him by not campaigning for him.

Chandrashekar, 49, joined the BJP on October 10 to contest in the by-poll after the Congress decided not to field its candidate against Anitha. As the seat was won by the JD(S) in May the Congress did not enter the fray, as part of its seat-sharing understanding with the regional party.

Follow live updates here: Congress ahead of BJP in Ballari parliamentary seat after 8 rounds of counting

Apart from those two, five Independents were also in the fray.

The by-elections to three Lok Sabha and two assembly seats held on Saturday were being seen as a crucial test for the Congress-JD(S) alliance, forged after state elections in May this year to keep out single largest party the BJP.

The ruling alliance won two of the five seats and was leading in two more in a by-election billed as a semi-final before the Lok Sabha polls next year. The BJP retained the Shivamogga parliamentary seat.

The alliance also had a comfortable lead in Ballari, which has been a BJP stronghold for the last decade and a half, in what will be the big upset if they win. Its candidate also won Jamakhandi assembly seat.

First Published: Nov 06, 2018 06:54 IST

top news