2nd Ashes Test: Oz name unchanged squad

Updated on Nov 28, 2006 05:01 PM IST

But chairman of selectors Andrew Hildtich did not rule out picking two spinners later in the series.

HT Image
HT Image
None | ByPress Trust of India, Sydney

Australian selectors on Tuesday unveiled an unchanged 13-man squad to face England in the second Ashes Test in Adelaide later this week after thrashing the visitors in the opener.

With all-rounder Shane Watson ruled out through injury there was no place for second spinner Stuart MacGill, allowing batsman Michael Clarke to retain his spot when the two sides begin their next confrontation on Friday.

MacGill had hoped to be included at the batsman-friendly Adelaide Oval, but was again omitted from the squad as selectors retained their victorious line-up.

But chairman of selectors Andrew Hildtich did not rule out picking two spinners later in the series.

"That decision is made more difficult while Shane Watson is unfit but it will be reviewed depending on the particular conditions we will face at each venue," he said.

Stuart Clark, the best bowler in the 277-run first Test win at Brisbane's the Gabba, seemed certain to retain his spot in the team ahead of fellow squad pacemen Mitchell Johnson and Shaun Tait.

Clark contributed impressive match figures of 7-93 and a quickfire 39 with the bat in the series opener.

But selectors retained Tait and Johnson as possible "options", with the team to be finalised later in the week.

Tait's ability to swing the ball and Johnson's variety, being a lefthander, are both appealing.

Both the 12th man and the other player to miss the starting XI will be released to play domestic cricket Following his first innings 56 in the first Test, batsman Clarke is poised to retain his spot in the absence of all-rounder Watson, who has not recovered from the hamstring injury that kept him out of the Brisbane Test.

"We'll continue to look at our options to improve the team as we prepare for a series of tough Ashes encounters," Hildtich said.

"Michael Clarke seized his opportunity after being called in at late notice and played extremely well throughout the first Test and again this highlights the strength of Australian cricket."

Australia - Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Shaun Tait, Shane Warne. 


Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, February 03, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals