HT Image
HT Image

5 new mega-cities in Capital by 2021

The Delhi Development Authority, over the last few months, has approved the draft plan of the five new townships, reports Moushumi Das Gupta.
Hindustan Times | By Moushumi Das Gupta, New Delhi
UPDATED ON JAN 07, 2008 03:08 AM IST

Those worried sick about Delhi’s population explosion and its housing requirements need not press the panic button. For, five new mega townships will come up in the capital by 2021. These will be self-contained sub-cities with hospitals, universities, markets, amusement parks, exhibition centres, art galleries and a modern public transport system.

The Delhi Development Authority, over the last few months, has approved the draft plan of the five new townships. The proposed townships will come up on a total area of 60,000 hectares and can together accommodate about 73 lakh people. They will have an estimated 14 lakh dwelling units. Thirty-five per cent of the dwelling units will be reserved for people from the economically weaker sections. Private developers will play a major role in developing these townships.

Dinesh Rai, DDA vice-chairman said, “These mega cities have been planned to accommodate 60 per cent of the 230 lakh population by 2021. The DDA board has cleared the draft zonal plans, which provides for these mega cities. These will be finalised shortly.”

“We will now invite objections and suggestions from the public and after the Board of Inquiry clears them, the draft plan would be finalised and sent to the Union Urban Development Ministry. Though it will take time before actual work starts on these townships, we have already started the process,” said a DDA official.

The Master Plan Delhi-2021, finalised in February 2007, provided for two ways to accommodate the growing population within the existing urban units — re-development and extension of the present urban limits. The Hindustan Times, in its edition dated December 20, reported on the first such mega township that will come up in north Delhi.

To be built on 8,534 hectares of land, it hopes to accommodate at least 19 lakh people.

The second township has been proposed in south Delhi, on an area of 8,268 hectare. Located towards the south of Vasant Kunj, the township will extend upto Gurgaon border.

It will accommodate about 10 lakh people. This particular area is surrounded by Ridge and has many historical monuments in its vicinity. So there will be special emphasis on conservation of natural resources as also its built heritage.

The third township has been proposed in west Delhi and will be located in Nangloi area between Rohtak Road in the north and Dwarka in the west. The total area of the towship will be 6515 hectare and it will accommodate 12 lakh people.

The fourth township will be located in Najafgarh area and would accommodate a population of 20 lakh. This area will be developed as a major industrial zone.

The fifth township has been proposed in north-west Delhi between Rohini and Haryana border in the west. It will have a population of 12 lakhs.

The townships will have a strong urban design system with 20 per cent of the area earmarked for greenery. There will be special features like self- contained super tall buildings of three categories — commercial, residential and educational. Besides there will be utility and facility corridors along the major roads which will be connected through a well-networked public transport system.

DDA officials have already started the process of selecting names for the new townships. "We are thinking of traditional names like Takshila for the sub cities," said the official.

The last new township that came up in the Capital was in Dwarka.

Story Saved