Today in New Delhi, India
May 19, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

8 nations vie for UNSC's non-permanent seats

Countries contesting for seats in UNSC are Indonesia, South Korea, Nepal, Guatemala and Venezuela, South Africa, Belgium and Italy.

india Updated: Oct 14, 2006 11:55 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Eight countries are contesting for five non-permanent seats in the Security Council which fall vacant on December 31 next.

The 192-member General Assembly is scheduled to hold elections on Monday to choose the member states for a two-year term beginning January 1.

The non-permanent seats are allocated on regional basis and generally, regional groups come to an understanding and endorse the candidates. But if they are unable to reach consensus, there are more candidates than the vacancies.

Guatemala and Venezuela will vie for one seat falling vacant in the Group of Latin American and Caribbean states, while Indonesia, South Korea and Nepal are competing for the Asian Group seat.

The elections in the other regions are uncontested. South Africa is the only candidate for the African Group seat and Belgium and Italy are the only contenders for the two seats falling vacant in Western European and Others Group.

To be elected, a candidate needs two-thirds majority of member states present and voting. Even for uncontested seats, voting is held as a member needs two-thirds votes to be elected. If no one gets two-thirds votes, second and subsequent rounds are held until the seat or seats are filled.

The Council has five permanent members - the United States. Britain, Russia, France and China - and ten non-permanent members, five of whom retire each year. The retiring members this year are Congo, Ghana, Peru, Qatar and Slovakia.

First Published: Oct 14, 2006 11:55 IST