All Uttar Pradesh BSP MLAs resign

They quit in protest against the non-implementation of the SC verdict, reports Rajesh Kumar Singh.

india Updated:

In a major political development on Saturday, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLAs resigned en masse from the Vidhan Sabha.

All the 63 BSP MLAs and 11 MLAs who joined BSP from other political parties handed over their resignation to the party president Mayawati in the morning.

"Instead of the participating in the Assembly session on February 26 the BSP MLAs would seek fresh mandate from the people in the April- May Vidhan Sabha election," Mayawati said.

Mayawati told media persons, the MLAs have resigned in protest against the non-implementation of the Supreme Court judgement passed on February 14.

"In its judgement SC had disqualified the 37 rebel BSP MLAs. But the Speaker is yet to act on the SC order and delete the name of all rebel MLAs from the list. The Speaker is rather functioning as the member of Samajwadi Party and attending its meetings," she alleged.

"Even the Congress party and its allies political parties have taken no concrete step to remove the Samajwadi Party government whose very formation was unconstitutional and illegal," she lamented.

In their resignation letter, the BSP MLAs had said that election of fourteenth Vidhan Sabha was held in 2002 and results were declared on February 25, 2002. Automatically the term of the current Vidhan Sabha ends on February 25, 2007.

Mayawati said that BSP MLAs have left the party in two groups without any division in the party. On August 26, 2003 thirteen MLAs have left the party and again on September 6, 2003 another group have 24 MLAs left BSP.

Under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution all the 37 MLAs were disqualified from Vidhan Sabha.

In clear cut violation of the Tenth Schedule they were permitted to vote in the trust motion moved by Mulayam Singh Yadav on September 8, 2003.

"Even after Supreme Court judgement the Speaker Vidhan Sabha Mata Prasad Pandey has not released the amended list of the Vidhan Sabha members nor he has issued any notification about the vacancies created in the assembly after the disqualification of the 37 MLAs," she said.

"Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav would seek trust vote on the floor of the Vidhan Sabha on February 26 and the disqualified MLAs would also vote on the trust motion. Even after repeated plea of the BSP the Governor took no decision to dismiss the Samajwadi Party government. UPA government, under the pressure of the CPI (M), failed to impose President rule in Uttar Pradesh. Earlier CPI (M) did not oppose implementation of President rule in Bihar," she said.

She announced that 11 MLAs of other political parties resigned from their respective political parties and joined BSP. Two independent MLAs are Amar Singh Yadav and Mahesh Chandra. Five MLAs are from BJP including Kunwar Fateh Bahadur Singh, Ram Prasad Chaudhary, Badshah Singh, Phagu Chauhan and Jagdish Mishra.

Four MLAs from Samajwadi Party include Omvati, Kalyan Singh, Sunder lal and Ratan Lal Ahiwar. All these 11 MLAs submitted their resignation from the membership of Vidhan Sabha to Mayawati.

First Published: Feb 24, 2007 16:27 IST