Assam violence toll mounts to 30 | india | Hindustan Times
  • Monday, Jun 25, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Assam violence toll mounts to 30

Seven people were killed when policemen opened fire at angry villagers in three different locations in Assam, taking the death toll in three days of clashes to 30.

india Updated: Oct 05, 2008 20:57 IST

At least seven persons were killed when police fired on a group of Bangladeshi migrants who tried to defy shoot-at-sight orders in troubled- torn districts of Darrang and Udalguri even as violent clashes between the immigrant workers and tribal Bodos claimed seven more lives.

The clashes that broke out on Friday over stealing of cattle have already claimed 16 lives. With Sunday's incidents the toll went up to 30.

Police fired on a group of illegal migrants at Fakirapara as they tried to enter Darrang from neighbouring Nagaon and Morigaon districts refusing to retreat despite shoot-at-sight orders being in force.

Five migrants were killed on the spot and several others injured, official sources said.

In another incident of police firing, two persons were killed at Tiyajhar in Udalguri district during the day.

Two bodies bearing severe injury marks were also recovered from Baksa district this afternoon, while five migrants were hacked to death and another critically injured by unidentified miscreants at Dimakuchi weekly market in Udalguri district, where they had gone to trade in dry fish.

Army staged flag marches in all the affected areas of Udalguri and Darrang districts and indefinite curfew continued in both the districts. The army has deployed 10 companies in the two trouble-torn districts, the sources said.

Thousand of Bodos have fled their homes in panic and have taken shelter in temporary relief camps set up by the administration in five places, they said.

Udalguri Deputy Commissioner George Basumatary has been transferred and SP Anup Kumar Singh suspended for dereliction of duty and have been replaced by Kamal Mahanta and A K Tiwari respectively.