Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 20, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bancroft Prize-winners

Columbia's pretigious Bancroft prize was awarded to Sean Wilentz for his chronicle of democracy in America.

india Updated: Mar 20, 2006 18:21 IST

Sean Wilentz's The Rise of American Democracy, a long, intricate chronicle of political and social changes from the American Revolution to the Civil War, was among the winners announced Tuesday for the prestigious Bancroft Prize for history.

Other recipients of the award, handed out annually by Columbia University, were Erskine Clarke's Dwelling Place: A Plantation Epic, and Odd Arne Westad's The Global Cold War: Third World Interventions and the Making of Our Times.

The three winners each will receive $10,000 (€8,370). Previous winners of the Bancroft Prize, established by Columbia in 1948, include Eric Foner's Reconstruction and Bernard Bailyn's The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution.

First Published: Mar 20, 2006 16:58 IST