New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 11, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019

BCCI revamps Ranji format

Ranji Trophy will witness a major change this year with the top two teams from the Plate Division joining the top three sides from Elite A and B groups, reports Heena Zuni Pandit.

india Updated: Aug 18, 2008 00:18 IST
Heena Zuni Pandit
Heena Zuni Pandit
Hindustan Times

THIS YEAR'S Ranji Trophy will witness a major change with the top two teams from the Plate Division joining the top three sides from Elite A and B groups in the knockout stage.

The relegation system will remain unchanged.

Recommended by the BCCI's technical committee, the move is aimed to create a level playing field.

Ratnakar Shetty, BCCI's chief administrative officer, told Hindustan Times, “There was a feeling that there should be a single trophy for the Plate and Elite Divisions. We also thought of reducing the number of Elite teams from 15 to 10 but decided to defer a decision on the issue.”

Meanwhile, the 2008-09 domestic season will kick-off on 15th September with Delhi locking horn against Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (winners of Pakistan's Quaid-e-Azam Trophy) for the Mohammad Nissar Trophy.

While the Ranji season will begin in November, the knockouts are due to be played in December, and the final stage of the Ranji Trophy is slated for January next year.

Domestic Calendar

Sep 15-18 Mohammad Nissar Trophy in New Delhi

Oct 1-5 Irani Trophy in Vadodara

Oct 23-26 NKP Salve Challenger Trophy in Cuttack

Nov 3 Ranji Trophy Round One nDec 23-26 Ranji Trophy QF

December 30-January 2, 2009 Ranji Trophy semi-finals

Jan 7-11 Ranji Trophy finals

Jan 16-Feb 10 Duleep Trophy

February 15-22 Ranji Trophy ODI zonal league

February 28-March 9 Vijay Hazare Trophy (Ranji Trophy ODI knockout)

March 14-18 Deodhar Trophy

March 23-28 Zonal Twenty20

April 2-8 T20 Super League

April 10-May 24 IPL

Junior tournaments: October 1 onwards CK Nayudu Trophy (Under-22 level); Oct 1 onwards Vijay Merchant Trophy & Polly Umiragar Trophy (Under-16 level), October 20 onwards Cooch Behar & Vinoo Mankad Trophy (Under-19 level)