Bhutia's name missing from camp for Saudi tie | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bhutia's name missing from camp for Saudi tie

The Mohun Bagan striker has missed the list of 32 players for the national coaching camp to prepare for the AFC Asian Cup qualifier.

india Updated: Jul 21, 2006 21:47 IST

Bhaichung Bhutia's name is again missing from the list of 32 players for the national coaching camp from August 4 in Kolkata in preparation for the AFC Asian Cup qualifier against Saudi Arabia on August 16.

The Mohun Bagan striker, who is not part of the team which is in Canada for the Vancouver Whitecaps Nations Cup, has expressed his desire to call time on his international career.

AIFF president Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi had said he would talk to the star goalpoacher and try to persuade him to prolong his career till the Doha Asian Games in "national interest."

The match against the Asian giants would be the next assignment for English coach Bob Houghton, whose stint began on a losing note when India went down to Vancouver Whitecaps FC 1-3.

India will also take on Japan in another qualifier in Bangalore on October 11, the main target being the Doha Asian Games in December.

The list of 32 players:

Goalkeepers: Sandip Nandy (Mahindra United), Subrata Paul (Mohun Bagan), Subhasis Roy Chaudhary (Mahindra United), Arindam Bhattacharya (TFA)

Defenders: Surukumar Singh (Mahindra United), Mahesh Gawli (Mahindra United), N S Manju (Mahindra United), Deepak Mondal (Mohun Bagan), Samir Naik (Dempo SC), Anupam Sarkar (East Bengal), Narinder Singh (JCT), NP Pradeep (Mahindra United), Habibur Rehman Mondal (East Bengal), Abdul Bashir (SBT), Joe Paul Ancheri (Kerala), Debabrata Roy (East Bengal), Sanjiv Maria (Mohun Bagan), Rakesh Masih (TFA)

Midfielders: S. Venkatesh (Mahindra United), Steven Dias (Mahindra United), Mehrajuddin Wadoo (Mohun Bagan), Manjit Singh (Bengal), Dharamjit Singh (Mohun Bagan), P Renedy Singh (JCT), Tarif Ahmed (East Bengal), Micky Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Madhab Kumar Das (Mohammedan Sporting), Bibiano Fernandes (East Bengal), K Ajayan(Mahindra United)

Forwards: Sushil Kumar Singh (Mohun Bagan), Rahim Nabi (East Bengal), Fredy Mascarnhas (East Bengal).