BJD expels 14 rebel leaders

Published on Apr 13, 2004 09:10 PM IST

The Biju Janata Dal expelled 14 leaders, including Bhajaman Behera and three members of the dissolved Assembly from the party.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Bhubaneswar

The ruling Biju Janata Dal today expelled 14 leaders, including former Union Minister Bhajaman Behera and three members of the dissolved Assembly, from the primary membership of the party for indulging in anti-party activities.

All the rebels were expelled for six years and their expulsion will come into immediate effect, BJD General Secretary Narendra Kumar Swain told newsmen here.

The three members of the dissolved house who were expelled were Debraj Mohanty, Bijaylaxmi Patnaik and Nabin Nanda.

The other expelled leaders were Sachidananda Dalal, Kamalkanta Pande, Laxmidhar Tripathy, Akhaya Dhal, Jalil Khan, Dipu Barik, Rajendra Das, Vijay Nayek, Yanjib Papkara and Ramaballav Rath, the party's Bhubaneswar district president.

Behera, a former union minister in the V P Singh government, was contesting the ensuing Lok Sabha election from Dhenkanal seat as a Samjwadi Party candidate without informing the BJD leadership.

Turning to the criminal antecedents of the BJD candidates, Swain said that nomination was not given to any convicted person. The nominations were given on the basis of the candidates' winnability and merit, he said.

To a question that some BJD candidates had criminal cases pending against them, he said that those cases were not for any serious crime. Cases might have registered against them for participating in a bandh in the past, he said.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, December 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals