Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP changes nine candidates in MP

Bowing to widespread dissidence among partymen over ticket distribution in Madhya Pradesh, the Bhartiya Janta Party has changed its candidates from nine constituencies.

india Updated: Nov 15, 2003 04:28 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Bowing to widespread dissidence among partymen over ticket distribution, BJP on Friday changed its candidates from nine constituencies for the December 1 Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh.

Party sources said that from Burhanpur constituency Kailash Minee would be the BJP nominee in place of Moin Ansari who declined to contest.

BJP's three-time winner from Itarsi seat in Hoshangabad district, Sita Sharan Sharma was replaced by Girija Shankar Sharma as the candidate for the constituency following stiff opposition from senior leader and former union minister Sartaj Singh who had threatened to resign as state unit vice- president if Sita Sharan was nominated from Itarsi.

Ranjit Singh the sitting BJP MLA from the Ashta seat in the Sehore district got a rude shock when he was told that in his place, the party ticket had been given to Raghunath Malaviya.

In Bhind, district BJP president Narendra Kushwaha was nominated in place of Krishna Tomar, whose name had earlier been announced in candidates' list.

Similarly, BJP has now fielded Maruti Rao Khalse from Pandhurna, Nahar Singh Chauhan from Alirajpur, Gurcharan Singh from Vidisha, Hari Shankar Khatik from Khargapur and Shantilal Gawai from Barnagar in place of candidates whose names had been announced earlier.

First Published: Nov 15, 2003 04:28 IST