Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 14, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP office-bearers resign in Udaipur

Several office bearers of BJP resigned from their posts in protest against the irregularities in distribution of tickets from Udaipur district.

india Updated: Nov 12, 2003 16:27 IST

The rebellion brewing in the Bharatiya Janata Party with the announcement of candidates for the December 1 Assembly elections in the State took a turn for the worse with many office-bearers resigning from their party posts to protest against the selection of party nominees from the districts.

Those who resigned from their party posts include Mahila Morcha district president Kiran Jain, Yuva Morcha president Manohar Singh Chaudhary, Yuva Morcha State general secretary Paras Singhvi. They handed over their resignation to the district party president (City) Madanlal Mundra.

District party president (rural) Hari Singh Chauhan also declared that if the party does not reverse the decision to fielding its candidate in Salumbar, he would also quit his party post.

The Youth and Mahila Mocha and BJP leaders pointed out that if the party organisation has no say in the selection of candidates, then there was no point in continuing in the party.

In their resignation letter, the party leaders pointed out that the selection of candidates for the Udaipur City and Udaipur Rural seats was not in tune with the sentiments of party organisations.

District party president (City) Madanlal Mundra has openly expressed his displeasure over the selection of candidates for these two seats ignoring the recommendations of the party organisation here.

He had revealed that the party has recommended the name of Mangilal Joshi from Udaipur City and former minister Chunnilal Garasia for the Udaipur Rural seats. But the core committee of the party has chosen Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Gulab Chand Kataria for the Udaipur City.

First Published: Nov 12, 2003 16:27 IST