Cong expels 13 rebels in Assam | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Cong expels 13 rebels in Assam

None | ByPress Trust of India, Guwahati
Mar 27, 2006 10:13 PM IST

Members were contesting as independents after refusing party tickets and were therefore expelled.

The Congress has expelled 13 members in Assam, including a sitting MLA, who had filed their nominations as independents following denial of party tickets to them for the forthcoming Assembly polls.

HT Image
HT Image

The rebels have been expelled for six years for anti-party activities, Assam Pradesh Congress committee media cell chairman IP Hazarika said.

Those expelled include Karimganj MLA Siddique Ahmed, Sanjay Raj Subba from Naoboicha, Samsul Islam from Hailakandi, Kaliram Deka from Morigaon, Swapan Kumar from Lumding and Tusheswar Neog from Golaghat.

Osiram Doley from Majuli, Umesh Gogoi from Thowra, Samujjal Prasad Barua from Sonari, Nilosh Hazarika from Bihpuria, Paramananda Doley from Chabua, Durgeshwar Tanti from Dhemaji and Pradeep Buragohain from Nahorkotia also feature in the list.

Hazarika said the party would not tolerate any anti-party activities and had therefore decided to expel members who were contesting as independents.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On