Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong panel to select candidates

AICC constituted a 7-member panel, headed by PCC chief Shanmugham, for selection of party candidates.

india Updated: Mar 31, 2006 21:57 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

The AICC has constituted a seven-member committee, headed by PCC chief P Shanmugham, for selection of party candidates for the coming assembly polls.

Other members of the committee are Chief Minister N Rangasamy, AICC general secretary V Naryanasamy MP, V Vaithilingam MLA, former legislator Pakkiriammal, party leader from Karaikal Needhi Maricar and chairman of Pondicherry Civil Supplies Corporation V Bhaalan.

Shamugham said that the committee, in its first meeting on Tuesday, decided that the party would adhere to AICC chief Sonia Gandhi's decision on election-related matters in "letter and spirit".

First Published: Mar 29, 2006 14:11 IST