Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 21, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congman files nomination as Ind

PCC vice-president V Sabapathy filed his nomination as an independent from Mudaliarpet constituency.

india Updated: Apr 18, 2006 11:56 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Defying warnings of disciplinary action by the Pondicherry unit of the Congress, PCC vice-president V Sabapathy on Monday filed his nomination as an independent from Mudaliarpet constituency in Pondicherry, which has been allotted to the DMK for the May 8 assembly elections.

He filed his nomination, despite PCC leader P Shanmugham's warning to partymen against filing nominations as rebels, saying that disciplinary aciton would be taken against them.

Among the 41 who filed their nominations today were Puducherry Munnetra Congress founder P Kannan (Mudaliarpet), AIADMK secretary A Anbalagan and A Kasilingam (to retain Uppallam and Muthialpet constituencies),cine actor S Anandaraj (Lawspet), welfare minister M Chandrakasu (Neduncadou in Karaikal) and C Jayakumar (Villianur in Karaikal)

Three party sponsored women candidates were among those who filed nominations today.

INTUC unit President G Ravichandran also filed his nomination, seeking election from Cassicadai.

First Published: Apr 18, 2006 11:56 IST