New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 17, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Sep 17, 2019

Devang Gandhi quits first class cricket

The former Indian opener and ex-Bengal Ranji Trophy captain announced his retirement from first-class cricket.

india Updated: Apr 25, 2006 22:02 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Former Indian opener and ex-Bengal Ranji Trophy captain Devang Gandhi on Tuesday announced his retirement from first-class cricket.

Thirty-four-year old Devang, who played four Tests in 1999-2000, scored 204 runs at an average of 34.00. He also turned out in three ODIs aggregating 49, with a highest of 30.

Addressing the media, an emotional Devang regretted having missed out on Test centuries on two occasions.

Making a highly praised debut against New Zealand at Chandigarh in 1999, Devang notched up 75, and followed it up with his personal highest of 88 in the next Test at Kanpur.

He was involved in sizeable opening stands with S Ramesh in both the Tests, and was hailed as a batsman of considerable promise who seemed to have everything — strokes, techinque, temperament and courage — to last in top flight cricket.

However, his days of glory proved too short, and the subsequent trip to Australia exposed his shortcomings against fast, short rising deliveries, and lost his place in the Indian team forever.

"My preparations for the tour Down Under was not adequate. Also, I think the batsmen in India develop weakness in facing short balls, as the slow domestic wickets do not allow them to get attuned to such stuff," Devang said.

He said after the Australia tour, he had to undergo a knee operation that cut short his international career.

"I did not perform well enough to get back. But getting dropped from the Challenger Trophy in 1999-2000 was disturbing," he said.

He also represented Bengal in the Ranji Trophy for 12 seasons.

First Published: Apr 25, 2006 22:02 IST