New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 23, 2020-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Election dates out for 3 N-E states

The Election Commission has announced the Assembly poll schedule for Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura, reports Anil Anand.

india Updated: Jan 15, 2008 02:30 IST
Anil Anand
Anil Anand
Hindustan Times

The Election Commission has announced the Assembly poll schedule for three Northeastern states — Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.

The polling in Tripura will be held on February 23. In Meghalaya, it will be on March 3 and in Nagaland on March 5.

Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami said the model code of conduct would come into force with immediate effect.

About Karnataka, he said the electoral rolls were being revised again because of discrepancies. The revision would be completed by March 10.

The poll panel will take a decision to hold elections to the Assembly in Karnataka, where the House has been kept under suspended animation.

The election notification for Tripura will be made on January 30 and the last date for filing nomination is February 6. Counting will be on March 7. In Meghalaya, the poll notification will be issued on February 8 with February 15 the last date of filing nominations. Here, too, counting will be held on March 7. In Nagaland, the notification will be out on February 9. The last date for nominations will be February 16 and counting on March 8.