Eng-Zim match suspended due to rain

Updated on Sep 11, 2004 11:20 AM IST

Solanki hit a watchful 62 but Zimbabwe's bowlers had restricted Eng to 198 for five when rain stopped play.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByReuters, Birmingham, England

Opener Vikram Solanki struck a watchful 62 but Zimbabwe's young bowlers had restricted England to 198 for five when rain stopped play in their ICC Champions Trophy clash at Edgbaston, Birmingham on Friday.

Solanki fell lbw to Vusi Sibanda to leave Paul Collingwood and Geraint Jones at the crease when drizzle began to fall after 38 overs of the first Group D match.

It now looks likely the players will have to return on Saturday to complete the game as play had already started four hours late after heavy rain.

Zimbabwe took advantage of winning the toss in overcast conditions with some neat bowling and fielding, although the England batsmen's choice of shot was often to blame for their dismissals.

World one-day player of the year Andrew Flintoff fell cheaply, caught by Douglas Hondo after getting underneath a heave to long off.

Hondo had first removed Marcus Trescothick for 10 when the opener played away from his body and edged a catch to Brendan Taylor at slip.

The impressive Edward Rainsford then tempted Michael Vaughan (17) to edge a drive to Mark Vermeulen, and he grabbed his second wicket when captain and wicketkeeper Tatenda Taibu took a superb one-handed diving catch to dismiss Andrew Strauss for 25.

Taibu, the youngest captain in the tournament at just 21, recovered from a hamstring strain to lead his inexperienced but surprisingly combative team.

Opening bowler Tinashe Panyangara made a dreadful start, however, bowling seven wides in a 13-ball first over before recovering to dismiss Flintoff.

England: Michael Vaughan (captain), Marcus Trescothick, Vikram Solanki, Andrew Strauss, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Geraint Jones, Ashley Giles, Alex Wharf, Darren Gough and Steve Harmison.

: Tatenda Taibu (captain), Elton Chigumbura, Dion Ebrahim, Douglas Hondo, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tinashe Panyangara, Edward Rainsford, Vusi Sibabnda, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya and Mark Vermuelen.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS), Steve Bucknor (WI).

TV umpire: Billy Bowden (NZ)

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, February 08, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals