Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Finding right candidates gives BJP sleepless nights

The BJP is confident of winning all four seats in Ganganagar, but is facing troubles finding candidates acceptable to all the factions.

india Updated: Nov 04, 2013 15:42 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The BJP is finding it difficult to reach a consensus on candidates for the four seats in Ganganagar district.

The BJP is confident of winning all four seats in Ganganagar, but it faces a problem in finding candidates acceptable to all the factions.

The common enemies of the candidates of high command choice have decided to field their own candidates against the BJP's official candidates. Leaders opposed to Gurjant Singh Brar decided to oppose his candidature from Sadulshahar.

They discussed fielding their own candidate in case the party high command fields Gurjant Singh as their official candidate. Brij Mohan Saharan and Sarika Chaudhary are gathering support to press for their candidature. So Gurjant Singh faces challenges not only from opponents but also from within his own party.

His nephew Randhir Singh has also staked his claim for BJP ticket failing which he has expressed his intention to contest as an independent candidate.

The situation is similar with the opponents of Radheyshyam in Ganganagar seat.

They have decided to oppose Radheyshyam. They made it clear to state party chief Vasundhare Raje and Rajasthan incharge Kaptan Singh that fielding Radheyshyam will not be acceptable to them.

They will strive to ensure the victory of a candidate other than Radheyshyam. Radheyshyam said he will appease his opponents but does not seem to have taken any serious steps in this direction.

Prahlad Tak, Shiv Swami, Mahesh Periwal, Gajendra Bhati, Maninder Singh Maan, and Hanuman Goyal have decided to reject candidature of Radheyshyam even if he tries to compromise.

It will not be surprising if one of these opponents decides to contest as a rebel in the election. For Srikaranpur, Surendrapal Singh TT will face opposition if the high command gives him a ticket. Kundanlal Miglani, Mahendra Rassewat and Hansraj Punia have declared revolt against Surendra Pal Singh TT.

They want a candidate to be chosen from among them. They gave hints of their rebellion to senior BJP leaders. In the last election, Hansraj and Mahendra Rassewat contested last election independently and made their presence felt. Therefore, it will not be easy for the party high command to ignore these stalwarts.

In Sriganganagar, opponents are united against Rajendra Sharma.

They are Rampratap Kasania, Ashok Nagpal, Chanduram Legha, Vijendra Punia, and Sharanpal Singh. They want devoted party workers to be given a ticket. They have urged Vasundhara Raje to conduct a survey to find out the situation.

First Published: Nov 04, 2013 15:15 IST