New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 23, 2020-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Govt sets deputation rules

The Centre has sent a circular to all state governments on the procedures to be followed while deputing members of all-India Services, reports Soumyajit Pattnaik.

india Updated: Jan 14, 2008 02:32 IST
Soumyajit Pattnaik
Soumyajit Pattnaik
Hindustan Times

The Centre has sent a circular to all state governments on the procedures to be followed while deputing members of all-India Services. The circular comes a year after the government had informed the states on the type of organisations that the members could serve on deputation.

According to sources, the new procedures say a three-member committee headed by the cabinet secretary would approve IAS, IPS and Indian Forest Service officers willing to serve on deputation in international organisations.

"For officers of the rank of joint secretary and above, the Prime Minister would give the approval," an official said. The Orissa chief secretary received a letter last November on this from the Centre.

There are five categories.

The first is to work for the UN, the second in financial institutions like the World Bank, International Monetary Fund and the Asian Development Bank. The third category deals with posts in multilateral organisations of which India is a member like the International Atomic Energy Agency, World Trade Organisation, Commonwealth Organisation, International Court of Justice and the SAARC.

The fourth deals with postings in bilateral bodies set up under the Vienna Convention that include embassies and bodies like USAID, DFID and NORAD. The fifth category includes international NGOs and funding organisations from which India receives technical/financial assistance like International Red Cross Society, Action Aid, Aga Khan Foundation and Ford Foundation.

According to the Centre's notification, appointments to the five categories have to be done "with the approval of the committee under the chairmanship of the cabinet secretary comprising secretary (personnel) and finance secretary (with Prime Minister's approval for the committee)".

"For appointments listed in the fourth category, the foreign secretary or ministry of external affairs secretary concerned shall also be member of the committee," the circular says.

It also mentions that "for appointments to posts listed at (V), the concurrence of ministry of home affairs shall be taken". Officers can serve on deputation for five years.