HT Image
HT Image

Gowda, Bangarappa, Moily test their luck in Phase II

Some 79 candidates are in fray in Karnataka for the April 26 polls, to be held on 13 Lok Sabha seats.
PTI | By Press Trust of India, Bangalore
PUBLISHED ON APR 11, 2004 02:39 PM IST

As many as 79 candidates, including former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, former chief ministers S Bangarappa and M Veerappa Moily are in fray for the second phase of elections to be held in 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Karnataka on April 26 after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended on Saturday.

Of the 90 persons who had submitted papers, 11 chose to withdraw from the contest, official sources said here.

For the 104 assembly segments coming under 13 Lok Sabha constituencies, 747 have been left in fray after 32 candidates, majority of the independents preferred not to test their electoral fortunes.

With this, a total number of 172 candidates will be vying from 28 Lok Sabha constituencies, 1695 candidates in 224 assembly segments in the simultaneous elections to be held in the two phases on April 20 and 26 in the state.

The state has been witnessing a high voltage campaign by prominent political parties-- ruling Congress, BJP and JDS, besides Janata Party and Kannada Naadu.

The counting of votes would be taken up on May 13.

For the first time, the Election Commission would be using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in the coming poll in all the constituencies.

Story Saved