Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indians fail to make cut in hockey award list

None of the Indian players were nominated for Player of the Year Award and the Young Player of the Year Award.

india Updated: Sep 13, 2006 22:14 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

India's pathetic performances in the last one year were reflected when none of their players were picked among nominees for FIH's World Hockey Men's Player of the Year Award 2006.

Indians also failed to find a mention among the six nominees for the Young Player of the Year Award, according to the list announced by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Wednesday.

The nominations were decided through a survey of World Cup coaches and international media representatives.

The award winners will be determined by a ballot of players and coaches from the 12 competing teams at the ongoing Hockey World Cup here.

The awards will be presented by International Olympic Committee President Jacques Rogge and FIH President Els van Breda Vriesman during half time of the 7th place playoff at the Hockey World Cup on September 16.

The nominations are as follows:

2006 World Hockey Men's Player of the Year: Pol Amat (ESP), Ryan Archibald (NZL), Philipp Crone (GER), Teun de Nooijer (NED), Jeroen Delmee (NED), Brent Livermore (AUS), Yong Bae Kim (KOR), Stephen Mowlam (AUS).

2006 World Hockey Men's Young Player of the Year: (under 23 age limit, as of 1 January 2006) Shakeel Abbasi (PAK), David Alegre (ESP), Santi Freixa (ESP), Mark Knowles (AUS), Robert van der Horst (NED), Christopher Zeller (GER).

First Published: Sep 13, 2006 22:08 IST