Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 21, 2018-Friday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Inzamam pleads ignorance of rule

The Pak captain, who was given out for obstructing the field, has admitted he was unaware of the rule.

india Updated: Feb 07, 2006 15:23 IST

Pakistani cricket captain Inzamam-ulHaq, who was given out for obstructing the field in the first one-day international against India here on Monday, has admitted he was unaware of the rule that resulted in his unusual dismissal.

"I was not aware of the exact rules. That's why I stopped the ball with the bat," Inzamam was on Tuesday quoted as saying by the Pakistani daily Dawn.

Umpire Simon Taufel consulted with the other on field umpire Asad Rauf before ruling Inzamam out for obstructing the field— after the burly Pakistani skipper blocked a throw from Suresh Raina that was heading towards the stumps.

This is the second time in the season that Inzamam has been the victim of a bizarre dismissal, the earlier instance occurred when he tried to get out of the way of a throw from English bowler Steve Harmison in the second Test against England in Faisalabad and was ruled run out.

Other media reports said that Inzamam was likely to be hauled up by International Cricket Council (ICC) match referee Chris Broad for questioning the umpire's decision.

After the match, Inzamam and Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer went to the match officials' room to clarify about the mode of dismissal and were told clearly that he was adjudged out for wilfully obstructing the throw with his bat according to Law 37 (1) of the ICC code.

First Published: Feb 07, 2006 14:33 IST