Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Manchester United win Carling League Cup

Manchester United crushed Wigan Athletic 4-0 to win the English League Cup final on Sunday.

india Updated: Feb 27, 2006 15:19 IST
Associated Press
Associated Press

Manchester United crushed Wigan Athletic 4-0 to win the English League Cup final on Sunday.

United, twice European champions, were hot favourites to beat the side from a neighbouring town.

Sir Alex Ferguson's team created the first clear cut chance in the seventh minute when Wayne Rooney headed against the bar from a Gary Neville cross.

Wigan, who were making their first ever appearance in a major final, were forced to change goalkeepers as Mike Pollitt was unable to continue with an injury.

John Filan came on as his replacement.

Full advantage

United took the lead in the 33rd minute when a long kick up field by Edwin van der Saar was headed on by Louis Saha.

Pascal Chimbonda and Arjan De Zeeuw crashed into each other and Rooney took full advantage to blast the ball past the substitute goalkeeper Filan.

Wigan saw their hopes of getting back into the game ruined by conceding three goals in six second half minutes.

Ryan Giggs picked out Cristiano Ronaldo, who found an overlapping Gary Neville and his cross was bundled home at the second attempt by Louis Saha in the 55th minute, despite a fine initial save by Filan.

The score was 2-0 to Manchester United.

Poor defence

Four minutes later, atrocious defending by Stephane Henchoz saw his poor clearance fall to the feet of Louis Saha and he slipped the ball through for Cristiano Ronaldo to make it 3-0.

Two minutes later, the game was over as a contest when Man of the Match Rooney scored his second after Wigan failed to deal with a Giggs free-kick.

The win was the biggest in the final since it was switched from two legs in 1967.

It guarantees United a place in next season's UEFA Cup if they should finish outside the Champions League qualifying places in the English Premier League this season.

First Published: Feb 27, 2006 15:19 IST