New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 20, 2020-Sunday



Select Country
Select city

Maoists name 73 representatives for interim Parliament

The 73 representatives include 28 women for the 83 seats alloted to them in the interim Parliament.

india Updated: Jan 12, 2007 18:16 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Maoists in Nepal have nominated 73 representatives, including 28 women for the 83 seats allocated for them in the interim Parliament which will also ratify the country's new constitution.

Led by spokesperson Krishna Bahadur Mahara, the CPN- Maoists' parliamentary team includes 28 women and comprises central leaders such as Dinanath Sharma, Dev Gurung, Matrika Yadav, Hisila Yami, Khadga BK, Bamdev Chhetri, Janardan Sharma Prabhakar and Jayapuri Gharti, Maoist sources have said.

Top leaders including chairman Prachanda, Dr Baburam Bhattarai and Ram Bahadur Thapa "Badal" had already decided not to become MPs, the party said.

Sources said nominations for the remaining 10 seats would be done later on. Apart from the Maoists, the 330-member Parliament will have 85 seats for the Nepali Congress and 83 for the CPN-UML.

The formation of the interim Parliament on January 15 will pave the way for the Maoists to join the government and ultimately hold constituent assembly polls in June to rewrite the constitution.

Sign In to continue reading