Maya takes oath as UP Chief Minister

Updated on May 18, 2007 07:08 PM IST
49 others have been inducted in her ministry -- many from the upper castes -- including 19 Cabinet ministers.
HT Image
HT Image
PTI | By, Lucknow

Ushering in a single party rule after 14 years, BSP chief Mayawati on Sunday assumed reins of power in Uttar Pradesh heading a 50-member jumbo ministry inducting several persons from the upper castes, reflecting the rainbow coalition she stitched to get an absolute majority in the elections.

The 51-year-old leader, who became the chief minister for a fourth time, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor TV Rajeshwar at a simple ceremony at the Raj Bhavan.

Along with her, 19 cabinet ministers, 21 Ministers of State with independent charge and nine Ministers of State were also administered the oath of office and secrecy.

The Cabinet Ministers are: Nasimuddin Siddiqui, Ramveer Upadhyay, Lalji Verma, Indrajeet Saroj, Sukhdeo Rajbhar, Thakur Jaiveer Singh, Swami Prasad Maurya, Ved Ram Bhati, Lakshmi Narain, Rakesh Dhar Tripathi, Babu Singh Khushwaha, Phagu Chauhan, Nakul Dubey, Daddu Prasad, Narain Singh, Sudhir Goel, Jagdish Narain Rai, Dharam Singh Saini and Ram Prasad Chowdhury.

The ceremony was attended by her arch rival and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, outgoing Assembly's Speaker Mata Prasad, UP Congress chief Salman Khursheed, his wife Louis, Congress leader Pramod Tiwari and her parents, Prabhu Dayal and Ram Lata.

After the function, the Chief Minister introduced her parents to the Governor. BSP General Secretary Satish Chandra Mishra, who helped Mayawati in roping in Brahmin support for her, was the only political leader sitting on the dias along with her during the ceremony.

The Ministers of State (Independent Charge) are: Ram Achal Rajbhar, Anis Ahmad Khan, Ayodhya Prasad Pal, Jamuna Nishad, Omwati, Anand Sen Yadav, Badshah Singh, Rangnath Mishra, Vinod Kumar, Fateh Bahadur, Lakhi Ram Nagar, Awadesh Verma, Raghunath Prasad, Ram Het, Rampal Verma, Anand Kumar Mishra, Awadh Pal Singh Yadav, Akbar Hussein, Sadal Prasad, Yashwant and Ratan Lal Ahirwar.

The nine Ministers of State are: Sangram Singh, Abdul Mannan, Yograj Singh, Vidya Chowdhury, Rajesh Tiwari, Shahjil Islam, Daddan Mishra, Hari Om and Yashpal Singh.

Under a Constitutional provision, Mayawati can take ten more ministers.

Among the ministers, Siddiqui is BSP national secretary and Lalji Verma is state party chief.

Senior leader Swami Prasad Maurya, former BSP legislature party leader, who lost from Dalmau seat, was also made a minister.

Mayawati, who became the first Dalit chief minister in India in 1993, is the 40th chief minister of the largest state of the country and shares the record of becoming the chief minister for four times in the state with Congress leader ND Tiwari.

Mayawati, who is a sitting member of Rajya Sabha, will have to be elected to the state assembly or legislative council within six months from the date of her swearing in.

The Governor on Saturday invited Mayawati to form the government after BSP legislators elected her as their leader in the 403-member Assembly.

Her party won 206 seats out of 402 constituencies which went to poll in elections which soanned over one month.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, August 10, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now